Attitude of Gratitude

Our life group meets once a week in our home and it is one of the highlights of my week. Our conversation this week included talk about how to stay positive even when things aren’t going the way you think they should.  We all have a choice when we are faced with challenges. We can choose to wallow in self pity and spread our negativity to those around us or we can choose to have an attitude of gratitude and praise God that He is in control and thank Him for the blessings He has given us.  There are two sayings I have heard recently that I really loved.  One was questioned how we can expect God to provide us with more blessings if we haven’t shown gratitude for the blessings we have already been given.  The other was, “what if we woke up tomorrow with only the things we thanked God for today?”  Pretty powerful and convicting.

When our kids grumble about the things they can’t have we try to teach them to put things into perspective and to realize just how very blessed they are.   Honestly, I would prefer that my children feel deprived than feel entitled.  (and by deprived I mean of the things that “everyone else at school has”, not basic necessities!)

We all have Negative Nellies and Debbie Downers in our life.  You know who I’m talking about.  You immediately saw a picture of this person in your mind, I know you did!  These are the people that need Jesus in their lives most of all. I can’t imagine how miserable your life must be to make you find something negative in every situation, to make you complain about everything from the weather to your co-workers, to how you slept the night before. You can give these people a raise and they’ll complain about why a bonus would have been better.  You can bring them a treat and they’ll tell you they are on a diet.  I’m sure I annoy the heck out of the Nellies and the Debbie when I respond with, “well, at least…”  Life is so much happier when you look on the bright side and search for the silver lining instead of focusing on the storm cloud or looking over your shoulder waiting for the other shoe to drop.

How do you respond to adversity in your life?  Do you complain and turn your back on God or do you have an attititude of gratitude and ask Him to walk with you and guide you to a better path?  

My sister said something to me recently that I had never heard before but absolutely loved.  She said (and I’m paraphrasing here) she had looked at the end of her book and she knew how her story ended and the ending was pretty awesome so the little bumps along the way just weren’t that imprtant.  When you are feeling stressed and unhappy and like nothing is going your way, give it up to God.  That’s what He is there for.  He WANTS you to lean on Him.  You are NOT in control and there is nothing you can do to take complete control of your life.  Give it over to Him, Pray, Step Back, and have FAITH that He is in control and that he LOVES you and will not fail you if you will just believe.  

Blessings,

Emily

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Thirty-One and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

