School Board

After much prayer and deliberation, I have decided not to run for school board.  Although I am very passionate about our school system and feel strongly that we need more integrity, transparency, communication and common sense on our school board, I do not think I can be as informed and effective as I need to be and still meet the needs of my family and my professional commitments. This was a very difficult choice for me to make and I hope that you will respect the fact that I had to make the choice that is right for myself and my family. I work all day at the center and I am often up past 12 or 1 in the morning trying to catch up on the work I can’t get done at the center. I am also trying to build my Thirty-One business and I am very close to being promoted – but I can’t accomplish that goal without dedicating more time and effort to the business. Add to that the fact that I already don’t feel like I spend enough time with my two little girls, and I just had to accept that this is not the right time for me to take on something as large as a campaign and possible seat on the school board. When I stepped down from my leadership role at my church, I did so because of the time commitment and the toll trying to “do it all” was taking on me physically. My immediate reaction to running for school board was “no” but the enthusiasm and support from those around me made me pause and reconsider over and over if it was something that I could manage to do. I would love to run for school board. I would love to be a part of much needed change. I would love to be a voice for parents and teachers. But, ultimately, interest and passion is not enough.

To all of you who listened to me, debated with me, encouraged me, and offered your support – THANK YOU!   A part of me feels like I am letting you down and for that, I am sorry.  However, we have to all have hope and optimism that others will be able to do what I cannot and make a commitment to making a difference and making change.

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to School Board

  1. Kim says:

    Hey – giving it the consideration you did and showing the passion you do is more than a lot of people do!! You have nothing to be sorry for and you haven’t let anyone down! In fact, you raised up the people and priorities that mean the most – your family! You can still have a voice and potentially impact change just by continuing to keep you eyes and ears open and raising the tough questions when appropriate!

    Congratulations on your decision — I’m proud of you!

  2. Kelly says:

    Ultimately, this is a huge decision and one only you can make. I’d much rather someone step up for that position who can devote themselves to it than see someone feel forced to simply by way of showing interest. You can advocate for transparency and change by doing what we should all be doing — taking notice and speaking up.

  3. kweenmama says:

    I’m sure you’ve made the right decision for you. Family needs should always come first, in my opinion. Your little girls will appreciate it in the long run; and it might be that the time for you to be involved with the school board is still in the future, after your little ones are older.

  4. Melissa says:

    Time to update your blog busy one! I have given you the Sunshine Award. 🙂 http://iamthemama.com/2010/03/01/sunshine/

Leave a Reply

