Now Searching for Emily Page

The top search terms used to find my blog lately have been combinations of “Emily Page, “Sanford”, and “blog”.  I’m not sure whether to be flattered or weirded out by that. 

This week has been unusually crazy.  I was so miserable Sunday I didn’t get out of bed hardly at all.  I still can’t kick whatever it is that I have, but at least it isn’t the Swine Flu.  The playground was 100% completed on Monday (pictures to follow as soon as I get some time!) Monday night I had a Parks and Recreation meeting and a meeting at BCC. 

Tuesday I had a meeting with a videographer who is going to follow Lindsay and Monika for a video on the social work profession (super cool!).  Tuesday was also the first time in over a week that the kids were allowed on the playground and I had to take tons of pictures to document the event!  They were SOOOO excited to finally get to play on the new equipment (not only because it is super cool but because they spent an entire week and change watching it be installed).  Tuesday night I had a Thirty-One party. 

Wednesday just seemed to be hectic but I did get to meet a friend for lunch.   It was also Olga’s birthday so her family brought us cupcakes to celebrate.  We were very touched that they thought of us.  Now that the playground is complete, we are hoping to have “Olga’s tree” planted in time to have a celebration of her life around May 25th which will be one year since her death.  She has been in our hearts and minds a lot lately and we were so excited to see her family and to get to meet their new little boy!

Yesterday was also special because Lindsay and I decided on the title of the book we WILL write some day about the ups and downs of running a child care center.  I can’t tell you what it is yet, but I can tell you that the title alone will sell books!  Plus we might just have to do it under assumed names so we wouldn’t want you to know for sure that it was our book!

Today was nuts.  Lindsay and I had a 2 hour training tonight on how to include children with physical disabilities in your center.  We have had plenty of time to prepare for this training but somehow all that time got taken up by…well, something!  So…between 11:30 and 6:00, we went to Wal-Mart to buy supplies and candy (and other things the classrooms needed), we made lots of copies on different colors of paper, we put each of our business cards into those hateful corner slit things in the folders, we stuffed the folders with all the handouts, we heavily edited the slides, Lindsay collected “show and tell” items to illustrate our points, I selected old and new photos to use in the presentation, we put our agency stickers on all the folders, we dealt with cranky printers (aren’t they always cranky when you are in a hurry?!), we wolfed down Arby’s, and just barely had enough time to set up before beginning the training. 

Tomorrow one of the lead teachers and I will be going to a meeting in Asheboro.  Saturday we will be at Belk for the Charity Day Sale (selling World’s Finest Chocolate bars!) from 6 – 10 (AM!).  Hailey has a soccer game at 10:00 and another one sometime in the afternoon.  Sunday is church and a meeting at church at night.

So…in case there was any doubt, I’m going to bed now!  good night!

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Now Searching for Emily Page

  1. kweenmama says:

    So glad to see you are back! And it seems that you are quite busy. Good luck with everything! Hope you feel better with whatever it is that you have (NOT the swine flu).

Leave a Reply

