Hailey

We got up bright and early Saturday morning (grrr) to watch Hailey cheer for the first time at an Upward basketball game.  We had to keep laughing because she was always the loudest when they were doing free cheers.  She was a total natural and I can see her sticking with this for several years at least.  At the end of each game, they each get an award.  They can receive awards for Christlikeness, best effort, most spirit, best cheers, best leadership, and Scripture learning.  My Hailey?  She got the award for most spirit.  I 100% agreed – she put ALL of herself into her cheers.  As Ed put it, a sport where she is encouraged to talk and be loud – PERFECT!

Hailey was cranky tonight because she stayed up too late last night.  Was she watching television?  No.  Playing Wii?  No.  Reading one of her new books?  No.  Playing with her toys? No.  So what was she doing?  She was reading her new Bible!!  How do you tell a child she has to stop reading her Bible?  She is very excited about her new Bible and her hot pink Bible cover!

We looked at several Bibles before we settled on the NIrV Kids’ Quest Study Bible.  It includes over 500 questions kids ages 6-9 ask about God, the Bible, and the world.  It is great and I am THRILLED that she is so interested in reading the Bible and is choosing it over her new books.  She says she wants to take it everywhere.  She even wanted to take it into Wal-Mart last night!

Ed primed her “new” dresser last night and she was sad when she saw it today because she thought he had painted it without her.  I’m not sure why since it was white and not the color she chose (which is Carolina blue by the way!).

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family, Haileyism/Leahism. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hailey

  1. Robin says:

    Yay for Hailey! I just got me a Quest Study Bible – I probably should have started with this version too! Take care.

  2. Jason says:

    Will you please admit to me that an award of ‘Christlikeness’ illicits some laughter and giggles?! I’m happy that her biggest problem is reading her bible to much, but I really wanna ask, is there an award for ‘Moses-ness’? This really gave me a chuckle.

  3. Anonymous says:

    I found your page while looking for a page on Upward. We’re in Lee Co. too. I apologize for imposing on you blog (very nice by the way) but do you know what the deal is on pictures tomorrow? Our coach is out of town. Sigh.
    Kim

  4. emilypage says:

    I just called the FLC and was told to be there 1/2 hour before gametime!

Leave a Reply

