Where to start??

So, I took a vacation.  I didn’t go anywhere exciting or really do anything exciting…but I truly took a vacation from just about everything.  Work, facebook, wine charms, writing my blog, reading blogs, email, reading the newspaper (that would explain the stack of newspapers still in their plastic wrappers), etc.  I didn’t even put up all of my Christmas decorations.

But you know what I did?  I ENJOYED Christmas, my family, my pets, and taking a break from stress and to do lists.  It was blissful.  I was on vacation for so long because Hailey was on intercession and I wanted to stay home with her.  The center closes for a week at Christmas so it was a perfect time to take some time off.  In all, I was on vacation for 12 days.

So, let’s catch up, shall we?

Earrings The day after I wrote my post that Hailey got her ears pierced, I called my roommate and best friend from college.  Jen introduced Ed and I and was the maid of honor at our wedding.  We have not talked on the phone in years.  Maybe five minutes into the conversation, Ed came running in the room and said he did not know what to do because Leah had ripped Hailey’s earring out.  (Exhibit A as to why I haven’t been able to keep up with phone calls.)  I was imagining having to take Hailey in for stitched to have her earlobe repaired.  Fortunately, it was not ripped out in the way I had imagined.  Somehow Leah had managed to pull the earring back offwithout damaging Hailey’s earlobe.  We have all wood floors in our house so it should have been easy to find the back of the earring, but it took us quite a while.  I cleaned and sterilized the back and Hailey’s ear and then tried to get it back in.  It had taken us so long to find the back and the piercing was so new that we could not get the earring back through the hole.  It would go in the front fine but would not go through the back of her earlobe.  I even tried sticking the earring through the back to open the hole a little more – no luck.  I am a softy so I handed the job over to Ed and he had to pretty much re-pierce her ear.  Hailey continues to learn lessons the hard way!

Fred and Ginger Fred and Ginger have been a wonderful addition to our family.  However, I have to agree with Jon Owens that anyone who thinks an animal adopted from the animal shelter is “free” is very mistaken!  A week after we got them, we suspected that they had ringworm.  They had suspicious hair loss on their ears so we had to send in hairs to be cultured ($$$).  They were put on oral meds ($$$) and had to have lime sulphur baths ($$$) once a week.  They were confined to the girls’ bathroom and the girls were not allowed to enter the room.  Ed and I would enter only when we were able to change clothes and bathe immediately after playing with them.  The upside was that they really bonded and are very close now.  They snuggle and tumble and really love each other.  After more than 3 weeks, the culture was ruled negative for ringworm.  Fred and Ginger are thrilled to have the run of the house again!  Ginger is used to the dogs and will go up and groom Copper or drink out of the water bowl right beside him.  Fred is still pretty skittish and hisses if the dogs get too close.  He will run from us most of the time but when he is being held, he purrs very loudly and just melts into you.  They both like to sleep between mine and Ed’s pillows.  Ginger keeps walking across my keyboard.

Speaking of the cats, I love this carrier:

Softsided Black W/Red Trim Pet Carrier, 1 ct

It was cheaper than the traditional hard plastic carriers and features I love: it takes up less space and is easier to store, it is much lighter and easier to carry, it has a super soft washable pad inside that is so comfortable, Ginger will voluntarily go sleep inside, it has an outside pocket where I can keep vaccination records, and it has a shoulder strap leaving my hands free to juggle a child’s hand, my purse, vet paperwork, etc.  Oh!  Let’s not forget the fact that it is super cute!

A Charmed LifeDecember 31st was Amy’s last day inside the Shops at Steele Street.  You can now find her products at Cafe 121 or Added Accents.  With Amy leaving SSS, my charms and wine stoppers will no longer be available there.  I think this will make it easier for me to get started on my website.  I have some ideas of places I want to approach to carry my products in the future, but for now, I need to work on getting product photos on the website so that I can activate the store feature.  Of course, even that has to wait until things calm down a bit.

Our Neighborhood We have gone to three parties in our neighborhood recently and we had a blast at all of them!  I feel so fortunate to live in this neighborhood and to have met so many more neighbors recently.  I am already looking forward to the second annual new year’s eve party.  There is nothing like being able to go to a new year’s eve party that is just across the street from you!  ESPECIALLY when they have babysitting!  We had a great time at Tracey and Johnny’s and loved that the girls were able to enjoy their own party upstairs! 

Animal CrossingEd’s parents gave me Animal Crossing: City Folk for Christmas.  It is a Wii game that was featured in several commercials leading up to Christmas.  I absolutely love it and will have to blog more about it in the future.  One of the reasons I wanted it was because you can connect your Wii to the internet and if your friends have the game, you can visit each others towns and interact.  Lindsay got the game for Christmas as well and we have tried several times to make that feature work and haven’t been able to do it yet…but we won’t give up!  Hailey and Ed both have characters on the game as well.  Hailey loves to play and I am trying to use it to teach her life lessons (you have to work to pay off your mortgage if you want a bigger house…Hailey keeps buying stuff for her house and complaining that it is too small…but if she would just save her money and pay off her mortgage, she would have more room and could buy more stuff).  There are certain things in the game that can only be done once a day, regardless of the number of players you have.  If you shake trees, you can find two pieces of furniture a day and lots of money (you can also get stung by bees, but that is another story).  There is a store in town that carries things you need but for most of the items, they only have one available each day.  Hailey was getting up before me in the morning and buying the good stuff.  So what did I do?  I hid the game.  Yes, I am shameless.  I hid my Wii game from my daughter (it was MY Christmas present!!) so that I could get the good stuff.  Now she only gets to play AFTER I have done what I want to do for the day.  I am so mean.  Next I need to hide it from Ed.  He complains about the neighbors, refuses to do favors for them, destroys mine and Hailey’s flowers, goes in other people’s houses and rolls in their beds, and writes crazy messages on the town board. grrrrrr.

A Room of Their Own For multiple reasons, we decided to give each of the girls their own room.  As the oldest, Hailey got to choose her room and hse chose the green room which was their playroom.  This surprised me because it was smaller, doesn’t have the cool fireplace, and isn’t as cute.  It worked out well because Leah loves purple and the purple room is now her room.  I think it has really helped for Hailey to have her “own” space.  We just started this process last weekend and have a lot to do before it is complete.  Our house is a disaster at the moment as we have stuff in the foyer and the hallway that needs to be organized into their new rooms.   Ed’s parents gave us an old dresser for Hailey so we will be sanding and painting it to go with her room.  Ed also bought cool new silver drawer pulls as well. Guess what we’ll be doing this weekend…

Book wormI am proud to say that I have a book worm who is just like myself.  Hailey got a gift certificate to Barnes and Noble from my parents and had a great time picking out books.  She immediately bypassed the books that are at her level and went to the harder chapter books (like Judy Blume and Beverly Cleary).  She stayed up late with her flashlight that night to read one of her books and finished it by the next night.  She didn’t have school the next day and I remembered doing the same thing so I told myself it was okay and just pretended not to see what she was doing.

Brick City Community Church – After reading about Amy and Melissa’s experiences at BCCC, I listened to several of the sermons on www.bccwired.com.  I wanted to give it a try and I really enjoyed our first experience there.  I saw several people I knew from Wyeth and felt welcomed by everyone I met.  It was a place where I felt completely at ease.  I have to say though that one of the best parts was seeing Leah’s friend Lacie’s name on the door of the preschool room.  I had no idea they went to church there.  Leah threw herself on the floor and started sobbing the first time we went.  I was stunned because she never does that.  I was so thankful and relieved to see Robin and Lacie walking down the hallway.  I knew Leah would be okay if Leah was there.  We were excited about going to the service the Sunday before Christmas but it took us until 8:45 to find Hailey’s shoes…and the service started at 8:30.  We had to be in (little) Washington for lunch so it worked out better for us time wise, but I would rather have been a little late and made the service.  Last Sunday was communion Sunday and it was one of the most (if not THE most) meaningful communions I have ever taken part in. After the service, I found it interesting to reflect on the fact that I never looked at my watch, thought about what was for lunch, stressed about my to do list,  or worried about what the girls were doing.  Robin and I have talked about finding ways to get more involved and we are going to try and go to the same service so that Leah and Lacie will be together.  That makes acclimating to a new church a little easier and more fun!  I grew up in the church and have gone to many different churches over the years…but I have to say that I don’t think that I have ever looked forward to going to church as much as I look forward to going to BCC. 

Buster is still very much in our hearts and our minds.  There are times when I call one of the cats Buster without thinking (usually when they are on the kitchen counter or the toilet).  Leah asked me the other day where Heaven was and then asked if we could fly there.  When I asked her why, she said she wanted to go see Buster.  Talk about heart breaking…

If I owe you an email…I’m getting there!  I have a lot more I want to say, but I have a little girl having nightmares so it is time to put the computer away and chase away monsters!

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family, Haileyism/Leahism, Pets. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where to start??

  1. Melissa W says:

    I am so glad you like BCC! We didn’t make it to communion last Sunday because Colin was sick and now I wish I’d gone. I need to listen to that sermon online before tomorrow. We usually try to go to the 1st service but occasionally end up at the 2nd. We really feel at home there. 🙂

  2. your far away sister says:

    hey! what a nice surprise for your faithful blog readers. glad to hear all is well just busy.

Leave a Reply

