A New Look for Hailey

Tonight was a big night for Hailey.  She has been asking to get her ears pierced for years and we have always said she had to wait until she was 12.  We decided to let her get her ears pierced for Christmas mainly because it was a fairly inexpensive gift that would yield a big “wow” factor.

When we got to the mall, we videotaped our conversation with her about what her gift was.  I think she was very surprised and only a little anxious.  She did a fabulous job and barely flinched. 

She is very proud of her new earrings and is sporting new hair clips to keep her hair away from her ears.

I was 12 when I first got my ears pierced (I have had second holes pierced twice but for some reason, my ears reject earring in those holes).  I remember being so excited.  Getting my ears pierced was a HUGE deal for me and something I had waited many years to do.  I couldn’t wait to be like my sisters.  Leah was having a fit that she wanted hers done too.  I wonder if it will be even more exciting for her when she gets it done because she will be more like HER big sister!

dsc_4412

dsc_4413-medium

dsc_4414

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A New Look for Hailey

  1. Melissa W says:

    I’ve been struggling with this one…whether to do it as a baby or wait until Violet is old enough to ask. I think we’re leaning towards the “when she can ask” plan but I have no idea what age that might be!

  2. kweenmama says:

    I let my girls have their ears pierced when they were old enough to ask for them, which turned out to be different ages for all of them.

    I think it is cool that you videotaped the conversation before revealing the gift. What a great memory preserved!

Leave a Reply

