Moms are the Best

Not only have I not written in my blog, I also haven’t had time to read blogs the past week or so.  I just finished reading the latest posts on all the blogs I try to keep up with.  Jon’s latest post made me cry (I am SO not ready for the holiday Hallmark commercials).  The post made me remember that I wanted to tell all of you how awesome my mom is.

My mom is awesome for many reasons but today I am extra grateful because of her help with Christmas shopping.  Hailey asked for a Pink Fur Berry for Christmas.  She has wanted this for over a month and I wasn’t concerned with buying it right away because I never dreamed that it would be really popular.  WRONG.  This STUFFED ANIMAL retails for $15-$18.  The ONLY place I could find it was on Amazon.com for $50.  I don’t think so.  I am all about making my girls’ dreams come true at Christmas, but I’m not that crazy. 

Mom called me from Target today and was able to get the last thing we had not found on Leah’s list AND she got it on sale! I told her about the Fur Berry but they only had the yellow ones there…yeah, we have one of those already.  There were no Fur Berries in the first Target we went to and the second only had the yellow one so I decided yellow was better than nothing.  I tried to manipulate Hailey into thinking that she wanted a yellow one but it didn’t work.  However, in trying to get Hailey to want it, I did succeed in convincing LEAH she wanted it – to Leah it is “Lellow”.

Not long after she called from Target, she called again from Wal-Mart.  She had gone to check for a Fur Berry and sure enough, they had one!!  It wasn’t the pink one I was looking for, but she said it was purplish pink with a pink inside – GOOD ENOUGH.  If there is pink on there, it counts. 

I am so excited, it is a huge relief to know that we won’t still be searching for that one special gift on Christmas Eve! 

I am also very grateful to Ed’s mom.  Sally, Ed and I went to two Targets and Toys R Us this past Saturday and had a great time shopping for presents for the girls.  Sally is always wonderful about being willing to buy what the girls want and not make judgements about their choices.   She did not question any of our suggestions at all. I research EVERYTHING and if there is a bad review or rating, I tell the girls why that toy, game, etc. is not the best.  We’ve definitely learned that if they get something we think they might want (or in the case of Leah’s Fisher Price cash register last Christmas…something I wanted as a child and so assumed shewould want) they just won’t play with it.   Leah is getting several High School Musical items for Christmas and I’m sure not every grandparent would be willing to buy such things for a 3 year old…but it is what she likes and I don’t think it is any better or worse than Barbie and Ken!  She told me the other day that she wanted to go see the new HSM “two times”.  I know they can’t wait for it to come out on DVD (me too).

Ed is not as excited about this Christmas as I am because the girls are getting all “girly” toys.  I love to sleep late every day I can…but not Christmas.  I have been known to WAKE them up because I can’t wait for them to see their gifts…and I can’t wait to play with them!

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Moms are the Best

  1. your far away sister says:

    agreed!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

