Dessert Party

I have GREAT intentions of all the fabulous things I want to blog about each day…but blogging is a luxury that has to come after family, work, and cleaning.

Ed and I hosted a party this weekend to celebrate Lindsay and Ross’ recent marriage.  This meant A LOT of cleaning and cooking.  I was stressed about what to serve because I am not the best cook in the world, but it finally dawned on me that I love to make desserts so I should just make it a dessert party.  I got out my cookbooks and made a list of all the things I love to make plus a few new things I wanted to try.   It was a LONG list so Ed and I narrowed it down (a little) by trying to select a variety of things that would provide something for everyone.  We ended up with:

Almond Brittle – This was my first attempt at making this type of candy and it was not a good day weather wise.  It took FOREVER to reach the right temperature. 

Chocolate Pecan Toffee – My sister and brother-in-law gave me this recipe.  I love it when they make it and I am happy to have my own candy thermometer so that I can make it myself.

Hershey Cake – My sister and brother-in-law had this as their groom’s cake at their rehearsal dinner and I have loved it ever since. I have made this countless times (and no, I do not use Mrs. Lacy’s recipe) but I apparently bought light cool whip for the icing…that was a mistake.  It was okay, but the icing was a little too thin.

Chocolate Eclair Cake – Ed made this one for me.  I have no idea where this recipe came from but it has been in my family for as long as I can remember.  It is served cold and is oh so good!

Strawberry Jello Balls – My Grandmama used to make these.  I didn’t care for them then and I don’t care for them now, but I had to make something that wasn’t chocolate!  There are only 3 ingredients: jello, sweetened condensed milk, and pecans.

Maple Pecan Butter Balls – I got this recipe from my Mrs. Field’s cookbook.  I’m not sure why, but the balls flattened completely in the oven.  I made them into balls again while they were still warm and then decorated them with powdered sugar and chocolate icing.   I will definitely be making these again!

Truffles –  As you know from previous posts, I am very much in love with Amy’s Carolina Cake Truffles.  I love making desserts and I couldn’t help myself….I had to try to make my own truffles.  I have made them a little different each time and I won’t tell you how here because you just need to go buy Amy’s!  Mine can’t touch Amy’s and I will still buy Carolina Cake Truffles, but I enjoy having a treat to make for parties that is different than what most people would bring.

Chocolate Kissed Butter Mints – Why have a plain old butter mint when you can dip it in chocolate?  My Aunt Helen used to make these every Christmas and she would give me my own little box because she knew how much I loved them. I used to dip the whole thing in chocolate but one day I got lazy and started dipping just half of them in chocolate.  The mints are white so you can use food coloring to make them any color you want (great for baby showers when you know if the baby is a boy or a girl and you can color them blue or pink).  By only dipping half in chocolate, you get to show off the color!

Wedding Cookies – You can’t have a wedding celebration without wedding cookies!

Lemon Bars – Another token non-chocolate item.  I started to just make these from a mix but ended up making them from scratch because they are pretty easy to make.

Fudge -My mom made this for me…it is the BEST fudge and it is SO easy!

Sugar Free Parfaits – Vanilla pudding, strawberry jello, and cool whip – looks pretty AND tastes good!

Mini Pumpkin Cheesecakes  – I told my mom I needed a pumpkin cheesecake recipe and boy did she come through!  This just might have been my favorite thing at the party.  I bought pastry shells at Lowe’s (I couldn’t make EVERYTHING from scratch!) and used icing bags (awesome idea, ED!) to pipe the cheesecake mixture into the shells. 

Symphony Bar Brownies – Sinful!

Fresh Fruit and Fruit Dip – Classic marshmallow fluff and cream cheese!

Sparkling Punch – I found this online.  It was created specifically for dessert parties.

Obviously, we have lots of leftovers!  Thankfully, we are having a directors’ meeting here tomorrow – I hope no one is on a diet!

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Just Emily and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dessert Party

  1. Melissa W says:

    Man, I wish we could have come! That all sounds SO good!

  2. lindsayrose says:

    Thank God I have a platter of leftovers in my fridge, because I would be knocking at your front door if I didn’t. It all sounds so good when I read about it, and it tasted even better! Thank you so much for hosting this for us. I know it took a ton of work. It meant a lot to us, and we had such a great time!

    We love you!

  3. emilypage says:

    Come sub for us and I’ll bring you a whole plate of goodies! Heck, I’ll bring you TWO! 🙂

  4. kiminsanford says:

    OMG – I can’t believe I forgot about this Saturday night!!! I just went to check to see if I put it on the wrong calendar day and there it was — just somehow didn’t help to remind me!!! I am so sorry!!! And now that I see what you served, I’m REALLY sorry!!! I’ll have to find a way to make it up to you, Lindsay and Ross……

  5. kweenmama says:

    These sound yummy…any chance you will ever post the recipes?

  6. Anonymous says:

    yummmmmm.
    the chocolate eclair cake recipe was from JIMMY!!!! I still remember reading it in his perfect handwriting. That was our first introduction to Jimmy when he came home from school with Julie and we all decided he was a keeper. Duh, make our family something sweet and we’ll love ya forever!! 🙂

  7. emilypage says:

    Kim – We wondered what happened to you but it sounded like you had a full day! Don’t worry about it!

    Kweenmam – I will absolutely post recipes when I get a chance!

    JoE – I might would have remembered that it came from Jimmy but I was too YOUNG! 😉 I do remember getting a letter from him after that visit in his perfect handwriting!

  8. Amy says:

    It all sounds so good!! I am so upset that we missed it!

Leave a Reply

