A Day of Co-Pays (and Cafe 121)

We decided last night that Leah had to go to the doctor for her cough.  It has been getting worse instead of better.  I called first thing this morning and got an appointment for 9:30.  Unless your child’s life is in danger, you really shouldn’t go to a pediatrician’s office first thing on Monday morning.  Their office was packed and we waited an hour to see her doctor.  I was impressed that the first thing Dr. Lloyd did was ask about Leah’s UTIs.  Leah has urinary reflux and takes an antibiotic every day to prevent UTIs.  It made me feel good that even with as busy as they were, she took the time to ask to make sure she was doing okay on the antibiotic.  For the third year in a row, Leah will be getting albuterol treatments to try and break up her congestion, help her breathe better, and help to prevent pneumonia.  She has a fish mask but she doesn’t wear it, she just hold it up to her face.  She tells me that her medicine is all done when the “smoke” is gone.  She knows to tap the liquid down and make a little more “smoke” when it goes away the first time.

I had just enough time to take her to the center before I had to leave to go to my own appointment.  I have been having a lot of problems with my achilles tendon in my right foot to the point that it is difficult and very painful to walk at times.  I am very allergic to ibruprofen so I ended up with a steroid to try and get the inflammation down.  I am not a fan of steroids so I am grateful that it is only for 10 days!  I have also been having pain in my right knee and all down my right leg.  At times my whole leg will be numb. My doctor sent me to Spectrum to have blood tests to rule out Lupus and Rheumatoid arthritis.  All of my symptoms still fall within FMS so they aren’t necessarily unusual, but it will be nice to rule out both of these as possibilities.

I had about 25 minutes between the time that I left the doctor’s office and the time that the lab reopened after lunch so I went by Cafe 121 for a snack pack.  Cafe 121 and the lab are both very close to my house so I went home to eat…and was very happy to find that Ed was home for lunch as well!  It is always nice to get to see him in the middle of the day!

If you have not heard of the “Snack Packs” at Cafe 121, you really need to try one and help me keep them on the menu!  I told Chef Gregg Hamm, the owner of Cafe 121 that I would eat there more often if his meals were even $1 cheaper.  His food is fabulousbut not something I can afford to eat a lot of.  He told me at the Gala that they had only sold six since they started this promotion.  And I was two of them!  I think it is a great deal and I hope you will give it a try!  They offer two “snack pack” options each week.  You can get an email of their daily specials and weekly snack packs just by giving them your email address. “Snack packs” are TO GO only and you can’t make substitutions.  You pick these items up at the coffee bar so you can easily enter and exit by the side door without having to walk through the whole restaurant.  I waited no more than two minutes for my lunch today without calling ahead to place my order.  You can get these items Monday thry Saturday 11-2.  While you are there, why not try one of their awesome coffee bar options!  I am a frozen coffee junkie and theirs are the best (and cheapest) in town.  Try the frozen turtle! 

 

Café 121

121 Chatham St. Sanford NC 27330

919.774.1888     fax  919.775.1878

 

Snack Pack for the week of 10/13- 10/17

#1 – Bowl of Chili w/ ½ grilled pimento cheese sandwich*  $6.00 

#2- Petite Asian Salad *  $6.00 

*Tea and small cookie included with snack pack

 

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Day of Co-Pays (and Cafe 121)

  1. kiminsanford says:

    We must have just missed each other at Cafe 121 today! I didn’t leave for lunch until late, so got there about 12:30-ish. I usually like to get a fruit smoothie to go (not a coffee fan, but love the smoothies at the coffee bar)!!

  2. emilypage says:

    I’ve only had the smoothie he had at the gala which was very good. I hate coffee unless it is iced or frozen and tastes almost entirely like chocolate! If you ever feel like trying one, try the frozen mocha or the frozen turtle…you might just get addicted!

  3. Amy says:

    I am feeling Leah’s pain with the albuterol treatments. I cannot remember a year in my adult life when I have not had them, and it is funny how stuff like that can sometimes make you act so childish! I too hate them, will just put the mask up to my face, and the moment any sign of smoke is gone I am through. Poor Jonathan will check it every single time and force me to take the rest!!

    I’m glad to know about the snack packs at Chef Hamm’s. I have never heard of them!!! He and I talked at the gala about the fact that I’m not getting the emails, and I have to go ahead and get on their list!

  4. kweenmama says:

    We don’t have cafe 121 here. Is that a local eatery, or a national franchise?

    Hope you and Leah start to feel better soon!

  5. emilypage says:

    It is a local restaurant – you’ll just have to visit Sanford, NC to have a taste! And thanks for the good wishes for wellness!

Leave a Reply

