The Lee Regional Fair

We went to the fair Saturday but you would never know it because I forgot the camera. I. Forgot. The. Camera. This is a sin for me. I tried to tell myself that I would have more fun without the burden of worrying about getting good shots….but I probably had less fun because I was so upset about not having the camera. I love to take pictures…I took over 100 of the preschoolers when we took a field trip to the fair last week. Leah has such huge grins when she rode the motorcycles…but I don’t have a picture. Hailey squealed the whole way down the giant slide…no picture. Oh well, nothing I can do about it now!

My favorite part of the fair was the ride where you lie on your stomach as if you were hang gliding. It was a very smooth ride. I loved being up high and feeling the wind on my face. I could have ridden it over and over.

And then there was the ride from hell…the zipper. I have ridden the zipper many times both at the state fair and the lee regional fair. I have always loved it and have had no problem. This ride, however, was pure hell. I have never been so scared in my entire life. Truly. I have had time to think about it now and I cannot think of another time when I was that scared. It all started when the ride operator struggled to lock the cage. I should have gotten us (yes, Hailey was with me) off right then. As we started to move, I shook the door to try to reassure myself that it was latched and we were safe…it didn’t work. The ride was very rough and knocked us all around. If you have been on the zipper, you know that you can make your car flip…there was no way I was going to make the ride MORE scary but our car didn’t need any help. We got flipped forwards and backwards over and over…and it was VERY rough. Every time we faced the ground, I was seriously afraid the door was going to open and we were going to fall out. At one point, my face got smacked hard against the door. I had Hailey around the waist and was holding on to her for dear life. As scared as I was, I was mad at myself for putting her on that ride and had to make sure I did my best to hide my fear. She was panicking and I just kept repeating to her over and over that she was ok and that we would be off soon. At the same time, I was praying silently that the ride would stop. If we had enjoyed the ride, it would have been over way too soon. As it was, it felt like we were never going to stop. I love rides…the bigger, the faster the better. I love twists and turns and going upside down…but I guarantee you I will never set foot on a zipper ride again for the rest of my life…and I seriously doubt Hailey will either!

I love our fair, but having grown up on the state fair, it always feels like you run out of things to do too soon. When I was in middle school and high school, the double ferris wheel was always our meeting place. We would hang out on the steps of the Red Cross center (which has since been torn down), we would eat Al’s fries and funnel cake, we would test our love compatibility in the arcade, and our boyfriends would win is animals in the midway. And you know what…we would ride the zipper every time.

When Ed and I were “just friends”, we went to the state fair together and made a pact that we would return together every year. I think we have only missed one year since then. We love the ice cold milk in the exhibit hall and the honey cotton candy. We stand in line for the free hushpuppies and we get good seats for the lumberjack show. I once bought a penguin mobile at the fair and it hangs from the ceiling in my office at the center. Looking at that one mobile can bring back years of memories of the fair. If you have never been to the state fair, I encourage you to make this year your first of many trips to the fair!

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Haileyism/Leahism, Just Emily, Sanford and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Lee Regional Fair

  1. Trina says:

    Emily, I have to comment on the zipper. Jared wanted to ride the zipper really bad and Casey did not; so a friend of hers volunteered. As soon as they got on, I watched the guy shut the gate and as the ride started; I said: “I don’t think that gate was shut good”. I could not see him and was a nervous wreck the entire time. (should have been on there myself but wasn’t anticipating the drama since he had ridden all the other rides without a hitch). When the ride finally stopped, he got off bawling. His chest was hurting from being thrown around and Casey’s friend had a headache. Jared said he will “NEVER ride the zipper again”. It was horrible.

Leave a Reply

