CIS Gala

Thanks to our fairy godmother who gave us tickets, Ed and I were able to attend the CIS Gala on Friday night. I was very impressed and truth be told, more than a little jealous of their success. This event raised over $33,000 for Communities in Schools. Our carnival raised just over $4,000. We need at least $20,000 more to make our playground improvements a reality. It is times like this that I wish we had a local board to help us with our fund-raising efforts. It is very difficult for me to do my job and plan fund-raising events as well. I have several ideas for events, but I don’t have the resources I need to successfully pull them off. I am thrilled that they were able to raise so much money for their organization, I just wish we had a little of their magic!

When we arrived at the Gala, there was a car and volunteer drivier waiting to chauffer us to the Stewart’s beautiful home. Their house is absolutely gorgeous! As you entered their yard, you were greeted by a wonderful display of silent auction items. Everything from diamond earrings, to date night packages, to vacation packages. Once the bidding got above our comfort level, we opted to enter the jewelry raffle where for $25, you were eligible to win one of 50 prizes. At the very least, you were guaranteed to win a $25 gift certificate…which is what we won. I actually was happy with that because there were several items I would not have been interested in wearing and would not have known what to do with them.

The food was wonderful. Chef Hamm was busy making fried green tomatoes but we got to speak to him for a few moments. His sweet potato biscuits were superb and the sweet tea was the best tea I have had in a long time.

Myra and Buddy from Myra’s kitchen were serving their meatloaf, corn muffins, peach crisp, and chicken and dumplings. I absolutely adore Myra and my favorite moment of the night was when Ed told her he could not have the chicken and dumplings because of the carbs and she said he could have the meatloaf. Ed asked if there was bread in the meatloaf and she said “Oh, you’ll be alright.” and piled some meatloaf on his plate. I love when people say something to her at the restaurant about the portions and she says, “I’m sorry, I thought you came here to eat!”

I was thrilled to finally meet Amy Burns in person! I feel like I have known her for years. She is such a wonderful person and her treats are like a dream. Carolina cake truffles, toffee, lemon bars, cheesecake bites, pecan tarts, oh my! I think we made it to their table three times…to visit, of course!

With a sick child at home and another one that we had not seen in a week, we could not stay until the end but we enjoyed our time there and were thankful for the opportunity to be a part of this event!

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Sanford and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CIS Gala

  1. kiminsanford says:

    I am so glad you enjoyed the Gala!!

Leave a Reply

