First Soccer Game

I was very proud of how Hailey played in her first ever soccer game (especially since it was very, very, very hot on Saturday!).  She was one of the starters which made me very nervous.  I was praying that they had at least told her which goal to aim at!  Hailey did an awesome job and played her heart out.  She kept running even when I could tell she was tired.  She took a ball in the stomach at very close range and barely flinched.  She told us later that it hurt but you would never know…she paused for just a second before turning and running after the ball. 

My mom, dad, sister, brother-in-law, and nephews all made it to her game and that made Hailey feel very special.  I think she looks forward to soccer more than she ever looked forward to going to dance or gymnastics. 

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family, Sanford and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to First Soccer Game

  1. Jamie says:

    She looks adorable! Isn’t it so much fun being a “soccer mom”?

  2. kweenmama says:

    I love watching my kids participate in their interests. At our house we have football, soccer, dance, and softball. It’s crazy, but worth it for what it gives to the kids.

  3. Heidi says:

    I love that picture of her kicking! How fun! I can’t wait till my daughter plays soccer this spring! 🙂

  4. Kelly says:

    I’m always thrilled to see kids enjoying soccer at this age. It teaches such good lessons about teamwork, discipline and strategy, and it is such great exercise. I started playing at Hailey’s age and played consistently until just a few years ago. If she sticks with it, she’ll meet many amazing people simply by knowing how to play…you can go almost anywhere in the world and make a friend if you have a soccer ball!

  5. emilypage says:

    I feel bad because I did not enroll Leah in anything this session because Hailey has soccer practice two nights a week and art class one night. I would have enrolled her in dance and dance and art would be on the same night. Hopefully she will get to participate in something in a few months!

    Kelly – We are loving soccer for so many of those reasons you mentioned. Dance and gymnastics were fun, but they really don’t help you to understand teamwork or strategy and she didn’t get nearly as much exercise. She spent too much time waiting or being still…my child is not someone who needs even more time during the day when she is required to be quiet and still!

    I was afraid she would get tired of working so hard but she loves it and I am thrilled.

    I have to admit…I’m going to miss the makeup and costumes!

Leave a Reply

