Wii Fit- Day 3

Today was my third day of exercising using Wii Fit and I actually looked forward to it.  I have never, ever in my life looked forward to exercise.  I am ecstatic that I found this program and that it works for me.  I unlocked several new activities today and spent some time trying to learn them…but mostly, I tried to master some of my favorite activities (and beat some of Ed’s scores 🙂  ).

The most surprising thing to me is that I LOVE step aerobics.  Who knew?!  I would never, ever take a step class with real live people.  I would be too self conscious and it would bother me that everyone (perception or reality) knew exactly what they were doing. There are plenty of DVDs out there…but with size zero little girls bouncing around and giving you sugary sweet encouragement…not my cup o’ tea either.  The step routine was easy to learn and quite fun.  I completed the routine twice and was able to unlock the advanced step routine.  I loved the variety in the routine and completed it twice as well.  You heard me…I did FOUR step routines in a row.  And I probably would have done more if Ed had not come home when he did.

In all, I received 30 minutes of credit on Sunday, 30 yesterday, and 50 today.  You only get credit for the time you are actually moving so it took over an hour for me to get the 50 credits (the only complaint I have about Wii Fit is all the advice it wants to give me when I just want to MOVE).  I’m also still keeping up with my Ab Lounge and it gets easier every day.

There are two benefits to Wii Fit that I neglected to mention yesterday.  In every strength and yoga activity, there is an indicator that makes you aware of your balance.  It helps you to know that you are doing the activity correctly and helps you to improve your posture and balance.  You receive points based on how well you maintain your balance. 

That brings me to the second benefit…competition.  You receive points for every activity.  At the end of the activity, Wii Fit shows you your rank compared to your past scores and to anyone else who uses your system.  Ed and I are very competitive.  We want to constantly beat our own scores…and each other.  I am very highly motivated to do my best and work hard because I want to see my name in that number one spot.  Incidentally, I am ranked #1 in a lot more activities after my day at home today (both of my girls were home sick today).  I hoping I am able to hold on to or beat my high scores for a little while longer!

It was a big deal to me to finally master the ski slalom.  I ski as slow as possible and would never, ever dream of doing that in real life…but it sure was fun in my virtual Wii world!

My favorite thing of the day was unlocking the balance game that involved penguins.  You tilt the iceburg to help the penguin catch fish.  Too cute!

Ed and I had a rock concert for our children after dinner and my arms were burning by the time we were done.  Rock Band isn’t frivolous…it’s exercise!  I have a muscle that has been bothering me today and I realized when I sat down to drum that it is because of the foot pedal!  I switched to using my left foot tonight so maybe I will have matching muscle pain tomorrow!

Hailey did yoga with me today and she and Leah were both great cheerleaders when I am exercising. 

I’m wondering if I will overdo it if I spend more time doing Wii Fit tonight….

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Fibromyalgia, Just Emily and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wii Fit- Day 3

  1. lindsayrose says:

    Grrrrr… I’ve never had ANY desire for a Wii until I keep hearing about it now from you… it will be YOUR fault if I go more into debt from buying one!

  2. emilypage says:

    Maybe you should register for one! YOu never know!
    You know you are welcome to come play any time…someone else for me to compete with!

  3. Melissa W says:

    I definitely want a Wii Fit now! That’s going to be part of my plan to lose weight after baby what’s-her-name arrives! Between that and the new YMCA facility right down the road, I’m sure I’ll find something to motivate me to get active again, right?

  4. joellenhemink says:

    Good for you guys! I can just see y’all duking it out for the highest scores.

    You should be the advertising leader – you are so excited about it it makes everyone else want one!

  5. Heidi says:

    You are definitely making it easier for my family to convince me that we NEED one of these. 🙂 Mr. C is highly competitive too- I’ll bet it would make him work out at home (he is opposed to doing exercise anywhere but the gym).

  6. Clara says:

    I had a great time last night with the wii fit also. I love the stepping. Maybe we can motivate each other to keep going. I’ve had the wii fit for a few months now, but haven’t been using it regularly. I hope that changes, if I can find some partners to compete with.

Leave a Reply

