Random

This should have published yesterday but I must have hit save instead of publish.  oops.

Is there anything better than dinner at mom’s?  My mom made us all dinner Friday night for HER birthday (Julie and Jimmy made her cake though).  My mom’s cornbread is as good as dessert.  yum.

Saturday was youth day for Carolina football so we headed to Chapel Hill as soon as we were all up and moving.  Our first stop was actually S&T’s in Pittsboro.  If gas prices weren’t so high, I would definitely eat there more often.  I threw my attempts to eat well out the window and had a bacon cheeseburger (with chilli) and fries.  OMG good.  But wait!  It gets better!  The girls and I shared a hot fudge sundae with trash ice cream.  I had dreamed about that sundae for days and it did not disappoint.  Trash ice cream is awesome because you have no idea what to expect…you might get a bite of sprinkles in one bite and nuts in the next bite.  They do not skimp on the hot fudge or the whipped cream and even though it was just one scoop, it was hard for the three of us to finish it.

Our first stop in Chapel Hill was Roses at University Mall (or U Mall).  They have a great selection of affordable Carolina gear (we were in the market for ponchos just in case of rain).

We went to the basketball museum and could have spent an hour or more there just looking around and taking it all in…but Hailey and Leah were bored very quickly. (Although as we were leaving, Hailey said she could live there).  My favorite part was the footprints on the floor to indicate where key shots were made.  Oh, and the letter to Michael Jordan from Coach K saying he was sorry that Michael would not be going to Duke. 

We made a VERY short stop at Student Stores.  I could literally spend hundreds of dollars in that store…but not on a game day.  You could barely WALK it was so packed. 

Hailey, Ed, and Leah climbed the Bell Tower (been there, done that…choose to stay with all our stuff), we got to pet Rameses, the girls got their arms painted, and I won a t-shirt from the GAA.  

I am not a fan of football.  I hate football.  But, I love my husband and I love my school and I love the atmosphere of game day.  I told Ed we should just go to Chapel Hill on game days and enjoy Tar Heel town and the fun stuff and then go to a restaurant to watch the game.  Cheaper and more comfortable!

We had a block of seats and were sitting with my sister and her family, Lindsay, and Ross.  I had JUST said to Lindsay that I kinda hopes it rained when they announced that the game would be delayed due to lightening.  Ed immediately jumped up to go get us dinner…and then they said we had to evacuate the stands.   We were just a few rows from the field and it seemed like everyone was choosing to leave the stadium by walking down instead of up.  Thankfully I had Lindsay and Ross to help.  They each helped one of my kids get down while I carried our stuff and tried to get in touch with Ed to let him know what we were doing.  Everyone was trying to use their cell phones at once and I could not get through.  We finally decided to just start walking towards our cars and hope that we could get in touch with Ed soon.  I didn’t want to hold Lindsay and Ross up so when we got to what used to be the Chase dining hall, they went towards the hospital and I went towards the Manning lot past the Dean Dome where our car was parked.  We were walking into the biggest, darkest cloud and I had no car keys and I had no idea where Ed was or if he had gotten any of my voicemails.

FINALLY my cell phone rang and I was able to let him know where we were and he caught up to us not long after.  It started raining almost as soon as we got in the car.

Not the best game experience ever!

We went to Big Lots today because Lindsay has two full bookshelves of kids’ books in her office…and bins full of books that need a home.  We got the last two bookshelves (cheap!).  They had this whole section of NICE lamps, pillows, rugs, etc.  I got a lamp for our house that goes really well with our furniture and the other accessories in our living room. The original Big Lots price was $100 but that section was 60% off so I got it for $40!  Score!  It makes our living room seem even cozier!

Random Hailey…I just asked her to close our curtains and as she was doing it, she said, “They smell just like Lindsay.  Doesn’t Lindsay smell good?”

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family, Haileyism/Leahism, UNC and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Random

  1. lindsayrose says:

    OK, so yesterday I told a 4 year old boy he was cute, to which he responded “you stink” and then a 5 year old girl says that I smell like curtains? At least she followed it up with “doesn’t Lindsay smell good”, but still… curtains? I need to wear more perfume.

  2. Jamie says:

    So many things to comment on here …

    1. My mom actually tells Anthony that her cornbread is cake, so I guess it is dessert! And I love meals at Mom’s – we were there all weekend, and I ate so much that I HAVE to go to the gym tomorrow.

    2. S&T’s was one of my favorite haunts in the years that Jerry and I lived in Pittsboro. My favorite menu item? The grilled cheese. Simple but delicious.

    3. We have bought so much Carolina gear at Rose’s at U mall over the years. How I love trips back to Chapel Hill! But they seem to get more and more infrequent.

    Thanks for a little trip down memory lane 🙂

  3. kweenmama says:

    When my kids were younger they would have LOVED having to evacuate the stadium and then see the rain as it came down later. I think it all sounds like it was fun!

Leave a Reply

