Leah

Hailey is at soccer practice so Leah is hanging out beside me in my bed (me preferred spot for working on the computer).  She is leaning back against the pillow in a pink pajama top and too-small red pants (she picked them out).  She has her legs crossed in front of her with a can of cashews between her legs (her dad’s cashews that she went and snitched from the pantry).

She is chomping away and asked me if I wanted some “peanuts”.

I said, “No thank you, Leah.  I don’t like cashews.”

She said, “But when you put them in our mouth they’re good.” (You must say the word good with three syllables to hear it the way she said it).

I LOVE this age. I love the way her voice sounds, I love the way she pronounces words, I love her sweetness, and I love that she is still so cuddly.  I love that after she sang Happy Birthday to my mom today, she followed up with 4 more songs. 

She just said “no way Jose” to me (out of the blue and not in response to anything) and then closed the cashew can and told me that she didn’t like them either (after eating LOTS).  There is no telling what she will come back from the kitchen with next.

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family, Haileyism/Leahism and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Leah

  1. Jamie says:

    I love this age, too. The other day, Anthony randomly said, “Okey dokey smokey!” I couldn’t stop laughing.

  2. Heidi says:

    I love any age when they are still cuddly! What is it about pajamas that makes kids want to wear them even when they are too small? My kids do the same thing and it makes me crazy!! 🙂

  3. burnsblog says:

    Your post made me tear up a little! I cannot wait to meet your girls in person, because they sound like the sweetest, most wonderful girls ever!

  4. kweenmama says:

    I love the cuddly stage too! My son has outgrown giving me hugs and kisses in public, but at least he will still do it at home (when friends aren’t around to see).

    Your daughter sounds like quite a character! 🙂

Leave a Reply

