TV and Chocolate Chips

I remember thinking when I was younger that it would be SO GREAT when I was in the “real world” because I wouldn’t have homework…I would just come home from work, eat dinner, and watch TV.  What was I thinking?

What makes it even stranger that I thought this is that my parents would both do work from home.  THEY didn’t just sit and watch TV so why I thought my life would be easier is beyond me. 

Most nights, I feel like I am being pulled in so many directions.  I want to spend time with my kids and Ed, I want to hear about everyone’s day, I want to blog, I need to do work, I need to write thank you notes, I need to catch up with friends and family, I need to sort through the mounds of mail and papers we accumulate, I need to make sure Hailey does her homework, I need to pay attention to the dogs and the cat, I need to clean, I need to exercise, I need to read the months worth of magazines I haven’t looked at, I need to pray, I need to eat, I need to respond to emails, and the list goes on and on…but really…sometimes, all I want to do is just sit and BE.

On another random note, I also remember being so excited about being an adult so that I would be able to buy my own bag of chocolate chips that I could just eat right out of the bag.  I had lofty goals in life.

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TV and Chocolate Chips

  1. Heidi says:

    HAHAHAHAHA Have you eaten chocolate chips straight out of the bag? They just don’t taste as good as they do once they are in cookies. 😉
    I know how you feel, I was just sitting here tonight looking around at the TONS of stuff I have waiting to do- is a month and a half too long to wait to send out thank you notes? 🙂
    I keep thinking “as the kids get older, I’ll have more time because they will be more self-sufficient”. It hasn’t happened yet, but I”m still hoping! 😉

Leave a Reply

