Dreaming of Disney

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Mickey_Mouse.svg

It has been almost a year since our first family trip to Disney World and I am ready to go again.  It seems to me that Disney World is either a place you love or hate…and I am definitely in the former camp.  I have been to Disney World three times…once with my family the summer before 7th grade, once with the band when I was in high school, and last October with Ed’s parents.  Although I liked it the first two times and had a lot of fun, it wasn’t until I was with my children that I really got the “magic” of it all.

I don’t remember seeing many characters (or even caring to see them) when I was there the first two times, but with two small girls, meeting and getting autographs from the characters definitely was a highlight.  Ed actually even worked a small miracle and managed to get us in to lunch at Cinderella’s Castle.  It was by far the best experience and the best meal during our stay.  Truly magical.

I saw a feature on Disney’s water park on the travel channel today and I can’t believe we didn’t check that out when we were there (although, I don’t know how we would have had time!)  Of course, that just gives us even more reason to go back!

I hope we are able to go again before Hailey is out of elementary school…not only because of her age, but because the year-round school schedule makes it much easier to enjoy Disney during off-peak times.  October was perfect – not too crowded and not too hot. 

If you are planning a trip to Disney World, I highly recommend The Unofficial Guide to Walt Disney World. I used this book to plan out the details of our day, from what order to ride the rides to the best place to stand for the parades and shows.  I was able to decide what rides were appropriate for each of our kids, what restaurants would have food they liked, etc.  I carried a small backpack and the only two things in the backpack were our video camera and this book.

This book is packed with tips and tricks that will help make your trip more enjoyable and fun for everyone!

The Unofficial Guide Walt Disney World 2009 (Unofficial Guides)

Now…if some money would just fall from the sky so that we can go back!

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dreaming of Disney

  1. Heidi says:

    I’ve never been to DW, but I’ve been to Disneyland more than a few times. I love it and would probably go even if I didn’t take the kids. 🙂 My goal is to get there during Christmas, that’s the one time I’ve never been. Probably next year once the baby is old enough (and I can save up the money!)

  2. Tammy Hebert says:

    I too, love Disney World. We have 4 kids ages: 17, 13, 5 and 3.
    So, we have gone a couple of times to make sure the kids hit it at the right age for their enjoyment. I also love year round schools. We were in that track in Texas so our DW trips were always in October and you are right it is great then. Mainly Europeans and not very crowded and not blistering hot either.
    We did do the water parks – typhoon lagoon – with the kids during October – you would love it. Just remember European men where speedo’s and sometimes g-strings whether they are thin enough or not..had some explaining to do to the kids on that issue..haha
    We went last fall and will probably wait till Sophie the 3 year old is about 5 so she will be tall enough to ride more rides..
    Can’t wait. Now on that money falling from the sky thought…send that cloud this way when it has dumped your load. 🙂
    tammy

Leave a Reply

