DIY Project #2

Taming the toy and “stuff” monster at our house is always a challenge.  The lack of storage space made it more difficult to enforce cleaning because there wasn’t always a clearly defined space for all of the girls’ stuff. 

We had a shelf we needed to get rid of at the center and I jumped on the chance to buy it for Hailey and Leah’s playroom.  I see these shelves every day at the center and wanted to spice theirs up a little. I took Leah with me on Saturday to pick out paint and she picked out what Ed called “school bus yellow.” (“Lellow”, as she calls it, is Leah’s favorite color).

The yellow was a little too bright and I wanted to do a little more so I painted the girls’ hands with different colors of acrylic paint and had them put their hand prints all over the top of the shelf.  Hailey and I then used Q-tips to paint polka dots all along the front.  Even though they will almost always be covered, I added words I wanted my girls to always keep in mind.  A few swirls to finish it off and we had a brand new shelf!

I got the organization started last night but just couldn’t finish it all in one night.  Hailey actually reminded ME when we got home that I said we would finish cleaning the room when we got home.  They are THRILLED that they have a place to put everything.  We did have a rug on the floor but we voted to remove it because it makes the room look more open. 

When I went to tell them it was time for bed, Hailey told me they were playing “teenager”.  I’m pretty sure I don’t want to know what that means.

Here is our finished product:

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to DIY Project #2

  1. lindsayrose says:

    It looks great! I especially appreciate the swirls, of course!

  2. Kim says:

    Before I realized that the “dots” on the back walls were holes, I thought “wow – you and Hailey are really good at making perfectly straight lines of dots with those Q-Tips!!!”

    The hardwood floors not only open the room up, but will make it easier to keep clean, too!!!

    Nice job — I have some decorating (painting, creative accents) I’ve been wanting to do here since I moved in — got some time coming up???

  3. jennrstclair says:

    Yeah, I think that Ed didn’t get enough credit in this post for his role in painting the “school bus lellow” onto the shelves as the blank canvas for your creative additions! We drove by twice and saw him hard at work on the front porch!

  4. emilypage says:

    Good point, Jenn! Not only did he paint the majority of the shelf, but he also sanded it for me. What a great husband! Leah and Hailey also “helped” to paint the shelf.

    Kim – I still have a really long “to do” list…maybe I can pencil you in around 2011?

Leave a Reply

