Just Call me “Ty”

In spirit, I am totally a DIY type person.  I have tons of projects in my mind of things I would like to do.  In reality, I rarely attempt DIY projects.  Today I decided to tackle a project that has been haunting me for over a year.  I am not a fan of brass…it is perfectly fine in other people’s homes, but it is not my style.  The brass fireplace cover in our living room has driven me crazy since the moment I saw it.  Ed and Hailey took a trip to Emerald Point today so I took advantage of the time to mark this project off my list. 

I used heavy paper and painter’s tape to protect the glass and the areas around the fireplace and then spray painted the brass with a special heat resistant paint.  There is a thin strip of brass on the inside that are impossible to get to, but other than that, I am very happy with the result.  The pictures aren’t the best because I was rushing, but you get the idea!

I had a great time spending what would have been my admission charge to Emerald Point at the DK Clay Seconds Sale this morning and Leah spent hers on a doll with strawberry blond hair!  We had brunch at the Waffle House, visited the Randolphs, and watched Nims Island.  It has been a great day!

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just Call me “Ty”

  1. lindsayrose says:

    It looks awesome!

  2. kweenmama says:

    Okay, now you have me feeling guilty about all the DIY projects that I need to get done. Sigh.

    The fireplace looks great!

  3. Tammy Hebert says:

    I totally understand. I like to think of myself as a person who has accumulated a mass of items that become my room of “good intentions”. Now as to whether I actually get them done? well that is the question..
    It looks good – and I too do not like brass..too shiny for me.
    So what are you going to do next time the hubby leaves town?

  4. emilypage says:

    I think maybe next time he leaves town I will curl up with a good book and a glass of wine!

Leave a Reply

