Wall Pops

 

When we moved to Sanford in 2000, we did not have children and we were not expecting a child…but we knew we wanted to have a baby in the next couple of years.  One of the bedrooms was very small but had a vaulted ceiling and a Palladian window.  It was just perfect for a nursery.  We decided it would be wise to paint the room before we moved any furniture into the room. 

I’m not really sure now where I got the idea, but I decided to paint a border at chair-rail height.  Ed measured and drew the lines for me and then I painted between the lines. I don’t like painters’ tape and so I first painted the lines with a very small paintbrush.  If you know me, you know I am very obsessive about things being straight.  Luckily it was a small room as this took forever.  Once the blue border was complete, I added the yellow stars with a 3-star sponge.  I eventually had to fill in by only doing one star at a time.  This was truly a labor of love.  I was VERY ready to move into a larger house but I hated to leave this room.  We couldn’t exactly take a part of the wall with us!  When we were selling our house, my one condition was that I would not paint that room.  There was NO WAY I could paint over those stars. 

We have been in our house for a year and Hailey still talks about missing her stars.  She has begged me to do it again in her new room.  I wanted something unique, but without the labor!  I found the perfect solution with Wall Pops.

Wall Pops are removable, re-positionable stickers.  We bought a package of 4 sheets at Target for $17.95.  The OCD/AR part of me wishes I had been a little more systematic in my approach, but I just started sticking the polka dots on willy nilly.  I wish it was a little more uniform all around the room, but I still love the effect and think their room really “pops” now!

 

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Just Emily and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wall Pops

  1. Jamie Stamm says:

    Both rooms are so cute! I’ve been promising Cera we’ll redo her room since December. But now that I finally have the time, we don’t have the money 😦

  2. Heidi says:

    Those are cute! I love the color of the room too.

  3. Melissa W says:

    Very cute! I’m like you…doing it randomly would kill a small piece of me, but it looks really good that way!

  4. emilypage says:

    Thanks for the compliments! Heidi, I love the color of the room as well…if Ed would have it, it would be the color of our room as well!

  5. wallprintme says:

    Hi please look my web site

    Does your space inspire sighs of ennui and bouts of embarrassment ? Do glossy expanses of freshly painted walls lack the impact and personal touch you desire ? Then give Wall Print a try.Wall Print is a compagny that provides anywone from weekend warrior to style maven an affordable and highquality product that will instantly give your style quotient a jolt. Easily applied adhesive murals can grace your space with a zenlike forest of Bamboo, a mod inspired explosion of spots, the tousled locks and face of the fiercest rocker chick, or hte graphic punch of a single flower just to name a few of the 80 or so graphics and prints offered by Wall Print’s creator, Julien Salut. Wall Print’s web site provides you with a gallery of patterns and prints that are tailor made to kit out any space from the nursery to the powder room with ease. The adhesive murals glide on as simply as a sticker and peel off with urge of a fingermail or spatula when you are ready for a change. Wall Print is truly method for instant reinvention and selfexpression. http://www.wall-print.com

  6. Pingback: The Wonderful World of the Web « All I hear is blah, blah, blah

Leave a Reply

