Blog Hopping Part II

Okay, so it has taken me many more days than I thought it would to get back to this post.  I’m sure you have been sitting on the edge of your seat waiting for me to finish. 

Jonathan Owens is a reporter for The Sanford Herald and one of the hosts of The Rant (tune in tomorrow at 8 on 90.5 FM!)  Although I have met Jonathan several times now, I wouldn’t go so far as to say that I truly know him…but I will say that he is one of those people that once you meet him, you want to know him because he is so easy-going and funny.  Jonathan was kind enough to volunteer to be a willing victim in our dunking booth at the Stepping Stones Family Carnival.  Photo below is by Brooke Wolfe.

Kim Pritt keep things interesting by writing about everything from her dogs, to the Yankees, to television, to random thoughts from her day.  Kim has a wonderful heart and I would know since she was my boss for a while when I worked at Wyeth.  She was VERY understanding when I had all-day-sickness when I was pregnant with Hailey. I am forever grateful to her for writing about Myra’s Kitchen! However, my favorite part about her blog is that she usually reviews movies as soon as they come out!  We rarely go to the theater, but I use her reviews to update my “want to rent” list!

Neil Morris is a local attorney but you won’t find any legal advice on his blog.  His site is dedicated to movie reviews (Neil’s reviews also appear in two newspapers).  I don’t always agree with Neil’s reviews, but I know that if he gave a movie a B or above, it must be a “MUST SEE!”  Neil also graciously agreed to take a turn in our dunking booth for which I am very grateful.

Sheriff Tracy Carter’s blog is very informative.  If anyone has a question as to what Sheriff Carter has accomplished, all they need to do is visit this site.  The amount of drugs that have been seized during his administration is just mind boggling.  You can also link to the dead beat dads blog from this site.  Sheriff Carter was yet another participant in our dunking booth.  This is not something he typically agrees to do and we were so thankful that he agreed to help us with our fund-raising efforts.

If you wonder what all this talk is about carnivals and dunking booths, you need to check out the Stepping Stones Children’s Center blog.   I started this blog to help get the word out about our efforts to make our playground safer and more accessible for ALL children.  I will be updating the blog periodically.

Steve Brewer is a Sanford City Council member and as far as I know, he is the newest Sanford blogger.   His blog focuses on items of interest and concern to Sanford residents.

(At this point, I am very tired so I am going to cheat and copy straight from The Rant’s blog.)  The Rant was “born from a need to brainwash Central North Carolina with subliminal urgings to drink more Cheerwine, The Rant was born on June 18, 2008, much to the chagrin of roustabouts and lolly-gaggers everywhere.
Hosted by Sanford Herald Editor Billy Liggett, The Rant aims to bring intelligent discussion about issues important to Lee County, North Carolina, mixed with what we believe to be humor. Co-hosts include Herald cohorts Jonathan Owens and Gordon Anderson, who are merely here for their looks. The Rant airs Wednesdays on 90.5 FM, WDCC in Sanford, NC, on a signal that reaches into Moore, Harnett, Chatham and lower Wake couties in addition to Lee County.

Now you know.

Blog Hopping Part III: Other Blogs I like to Read will be posted here…sometime.

There are also more Sanford blogs I need to add…sometime.

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blog Hopping Part II

  1. chamberchat says:

    Emily! You saved The Rant today. I woke up this morning and rolled out of bed around 6:30. As I had a meeting at 9 am away from the office, I had more time than usual and so I played around on the computer and watched some news. At 7:12 am, I was about to head to the shower when I decided to check the ol’ blog roll. The first thing I saw was your mention of hearing Jon on The Rant this morning.

    Holy crap! I didn’t wake up Billy!! I flew into the bedroom to get Billy out of bed. I have to say, I have never seen him jump out of bed as quickly as he did today.

    So, because you updated your blog, I remembered to wake up Billy, he was able to make it to the station and the show went on!

  2. emilypage says:

    Glad to help! I did not catch it all live (I usually have to listen to it after the fact anyway), but I have to say that I think I laughed more during this show than during any of the others!

Leave a Reply

