I Heart High School Musical

Yes, I know.  It is a littlevery embarrasing.  Hailey saw HSM 2 at the YMCA and I was not happy until I realized that it is rated G.  Still, we had never let her rent either of the HSM movies to watch at home.

After I read Billy’s review of HSM 2 and saw the ratings for both movies, I finally decided to let her watch it.  Unfortunately, the movie store’s copy would only play the first seven minutes.  So not only did we decide to let her see it, we let her buy it..and I’m glad we did! I was pleasantly surprised.  I thought it was a great story and the choreagraphy was amazing to me (esp. since I cannot dance AT ALL). Some of the songs went on a little too long for me, but for the most part I loved it and had no problems with letting the girls watch it. 

The fact that I loved this movie really shouldn’t come as a surprise to anyone who knows me well since I also loved Dawson’s Creek and One Tree Hill as well as all of the 80s high school movies (Can’t Buy Me Love, Sixteen Candles, Ferris Bueller, etc).   I actualy enjoyed high school so maybe that has something to do with why I have enjoyed these shows. 

I watched HSM 2 last night and it was okay, but it was a little too forced (I guess I do have some standards).   Still, I have October 24th marked on my calendar…I will be taking Hailey to the opening of HSM3!

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Heart High School Musical

  1. lindsayrose says:

    I am so embarrassed.

    But, ummmm…. can I borrow it?

  2. emilypage says:

    Of course…only, unlike Bee Movie, my kids WILL notice if you keep this one longer than a night or two so let me know when you want to watch it! (I had actually forgotten you had that movie until Jonathan asked me today if I had seen it!)

  3. jennrstclair says:

    Favorite movie of all time: Sixteen Candles (I still swoon at the scene where Sam leaves the wedding, the car pulls away from the front of the church and there is Jake Ryan waiting for her in front of his sweet Porsche. I swear, my whole life I waited for Jake Ryan and a red Porsche.)

    Second favorite movie of all time: The Goonies.

    You have a soul sister in great 80s high school movies! Oh, yeah, and I’ll stop on a Dawson’s Creek rerun any day.

    Nobody will read this, right?

Leave a Reply

