New Neighbors

Leah woke us up this morning to ask if she and Hailey could go play with the “neighborhoods”.  Although I did not say yes (It was super early and I was still in bed!), the fact that I could have said yes makes me very happy.  Our neighbors across the street have a 6 year old boy who Hailey is already in love with and our neighbors two doors down have a 6 year old boy and a 4 year old girl.  Although I have just met the mom by phone, I just learned that there is another 2 year old boy nearby.  I am excited to get to meet them next week as well!

Homes in a historic neighborhood appeal to a wide range of people and we are thrilled to see more families with young children moving in.  (Of course, we will be just as thrilled when a certain young couple in the neighborhood has their first non-canine child 🙂 ).  There are a lot of children at the other end of our neighborhood, but it isn’t the same as having children close enough that they can run in and out of each others houses (when they are old enough to cross the street by themselves, of course!).

I already loved our house and our neighborhood, but having more children nearby makes it even better!

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family, Sanford and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Neighbors

  1. jennrstclair says:

    I spoke to the certain young couple and they were so glad you had these new neighbors to take the pressure off of them!

  2. kweenmama says:

    I love it when there are kids nearby for my own to play with. My 8 year old son has eight boys his age all within walking distance. It’s fun to see them get together.

  3. Tammy Hebert says:

    Glad that there are new kids in the neighborhood. When we moved in 5 years ago there weren’t any kids and I began to question whether buying a house in an area with all older people was a good move. But it all works out. We have lots of kids down here and I am glad to see there are getting to be more up that way. I am sure your neighbor down the street with a 2 year old boy is happy too. You are right- there is nothing more fun for kids than to run from house to house and play with their friends.
    I’d like to extend an invite if you are ever out walking around and you see our brood of Summitt Drive kids out that you stop and toss your two lovely daughters into the mix for a while and let them play too. I am sure my 3 yr old daughter would be amazed that there are other little girls in the neighborhood 🙂
    tammy

  4. emilypage says:

    Thanks for the invite Tammy! I didn’t realize you had a 3 year old daughter! I think we have made it as far as your house only twice since we moved here. Leah (my 3 year old) doesn’t like the stroller and doesn’t always like to hold hands for a long time.

    I left work a little early today so that Hailey would have time to go over and play at M’s house across the street. Unfortunately, there still was not a lot of time between the time I got home and dinner time…and since she is in year-round, we can’t let her back out to play after dinner because she has to do the bomework, bath, and bed routine! Still, she enjoyed every second she got to spend with him!

  5. Tammy Hebert says:

    So, Hailey goes to Tramway? My son Jack is going there also..It is his first year – kindergarten and he is a bit upset that Sophie gets to stay home and play.
    We have a huge long driveway that the neighborhood kids like to bike on and a nice playset in the backyard.
    I understand the time constraints also – time seems to fly by when he gets home – homework, a bit of play time, dinner, baths then bed.
    But we are usually home on weekends too – hubby is in Iraq so with 4 kids I stay home rather than take them out 🙂
    So, please feel free to head on down – heck bring the new neighborhood kids too then we can all meet.
    Tammy

  6. Melissa W says:

    I am jealous! We have two little girls across the street, but for the most part we’re alone here in the kiddo department. I have high hopes that the house next door to use sells to a young family…but for the price they’re asking, it’s not likely. Though a family with a teenage daughter to babysit would be fabulous, too!

  7. David says:

    Hey, there’s nothing wrong with only canine children.

  8. emilypage says:

    I didn’t say there was anything wrong with having only canine children…we were there once. Just be glad we aren’t after YOU to have children…yet 😉

Leave a Reply

