The Lost Day

First of all, our Depot Park event was a success.  There was a great turnout and I think the kids really enjoyed the activities we had planned for them.  By selling raffle tickets, t-shirts, and Fourth of July trinkets, we made a little over $300.  Being able to publicize our center and our upcoming fundraising carnival was awesome. 

When I got to Depot Park, I carried two tables and several heavy boxes to our area.  At the time, this was no big deal.  I knew that the sustained muscle contraction from carrying these items was not good for me and might make me sore the next day but I had no idea what was truly in store for me.

Our area was shut down and packed up by about 5:45 but I wanted to stay and watch Ed in the pie eating contest (you can see the video on Billy’s blog and some photos on Jon’s blog.  I will post my photos when I get them downloaded.  Bob Heuts got 1st, Jon 2nd, and Ed 3rd).  By the time we got home, I was dehydrated, shaky, and ready for bed so I ate a light dinner and went to sleep.

I woke up a few hours later in pure agony.  Now, I had two children without epidurals…I don’t use the word “agony” lightly.  My arms from the elbow down were…I really can’t even find the words to describe the pain.  It was not a normal muscle pain. It was like carpal tunnel magnified by 100 and it was all up and down my arms.  I applied ice, I applied heat, we used my TENS unit…nothing seemed to work.  Thankfully, I had some Tylenol 3 left over from when I was having jaw problems and I was able to take that.  It did not take away the pain, but it did take the edge off and let me sleep. 

The pain continued throughout the day yesterday.  I HATE applying ice but I had ice on my arms almost all day – even when I was asleep.  It did not take away the pain, but it would numb my arms enough that I could not feel the pain.  Thankfully the drugs let me sleep most of the day.  I really only woke up enough to take drugs and eat enough food that the drugs would not hurt my stomach.

I think the worst part is that I know better.  I shouldn’t carry heavy things.  I shouldn’t carry even light things for long because it is still a sustained muscle contraction.  But I hate standing back and watching people do things for me that I should be able to do myself.  Why is it so hard for me to swallow my pride and ask for help?  Hopefully this experience will stay with me for awhile and I will ask people to do things for me without worrying about what they think of me when I do it.

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Fibromyalgia, Just Emily and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Lost Day

  1. kweenmama says:

    Wow, I can’t even imagine that kind of pain. Yes, you definitely should allow people to help you. Sometimes when we allow others to serve us we actually bless THEIR lives.

    Hope you are feeling up to snuff!

Leave a Reply

