Snapshots from today: funny, bizarre, and dorky

The Funny: (This was really funny at the time, but it may be one of those you-had-to-be-there moments.)

Lindsay and I were running errands today for our two upcoming events and I remembered that I needed to call Kim Pritt.  I was in the car so I did not have her extension with me…no problem, her company has voice activated dialing.  Here is how the next few minutes played out:

Little automated man asks very nicely, “Name, please”

ME: “Kim Pritt”

LAM: “Ringing Sam _____.  To cancel, press star.”  (Good thing I have that cancel option.)

ME: “KIM Pritt”

LAM: “Ringing Darrell______” To cancel, press star.”

ME: “KIM PRITT”

LAM: “Ringing Sam______.  To cancel, press star.” (and it was a different Sam than the first Sam!)

LINDSAY: “Give me the phone, she’s a Yankee and I’m a Yankee…Kim Pritt”

LAM: “Ringing Kim Pritt”

I get all these random names and she got it on the FIRST try.  Apparently, in trying to enunciate, I was really saying “KIIIIIM PRITT”

The funny thing (or at least to us) is that people can never tell us apart on the phone.  Even my own mom has thought Lindsay was me when she answered the phone.  Little automated man, though…he’s got it down.

The Bizarre:

I was working hard at my desk when I heard my phone make a sound I don’t hear very often.  I picked it up and the screen showed the little envelope that indicates that I have a text message.  The number was unknown to me and the message was, “I see you!”  ummmm….creepy!  I have a corner office so I have two windows…I looked out both windows and did not see any unfamiliar cars.  I asked Lindsay and Linda if they recognized the number.  Finally, Lindsay (being the good friend that she is), called the number and asked who was speaking.  The girl told her her name and Lindsay asked if she had just sent a text message.  Poor thing was embarassed that she sent it to the wrong number.  Horror movie moment averted!

The dorky:

My inner nerd came out again today (no comments from the peanut gallery).  I had started a diagram using text boxes in word to indicate the layout of Depot Park and where all of our activities will be so that I could hand them out to everyone who is so wonderfully volunteering tomorrow (that is a looong sentence).  I couldn’t get the scale right and decided to Google Depot Park to see if I could find pictures (what did we ever do before internet searches?). 

I found something EVEN BETTER…the project plan for the park.  I was able to print an actual layout of the park.  It even shows where the benches are.  I made a numbered list of activities at the bottom and then put numbers on the map to correspond with where those activities would go.  The fact that this made me so happy is truly pathetic. 

SANFORDIANS….DON’T FORGET TO COME OUT TO

DEPOT PARK TOMORROW!!!

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Just Emily, Sanford and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Snapshots from today: funny, bizarre, and dorky

  1. Kim says:

    A response to the “funny” can be categorized as “funny”, “bazaar”, and “dorky” (ok, mostly “dorky”) — when we first got that voice activated system, some of us spent more time than we’d care to admit dialing the VAS and making wierd sounds (coughing, sneezing, woo hoo-ing, fart sounds on the backs of our hands, etc.) when LAM said “name please” just to see what names it would come up with to match the sounds! We would laugh and laugh and laugh!!! ha-ha-ha What a hoot……

  2. burnsblog says:

    Kim’s system sounds much like the “Free 411” operator — she hates me!!! I cannot under any circumstances use free 411. I can try slowing down my speech, speeding it up, etc., and it will not work. Then…my friend Leslie can get it on the first try!! That really irritates me!!

  3. lindsayrose says:

    OK, here is the problem…when trying to enunciate, you were really saying KEEEEEEEM Pritt, not KIIIIIIIIIIM Pritt!!! Crazy Southern lady.

Leave a Reply

