Deep Thoughts with Emily

When you haven’t blogged for a while, you want to come up with a really awesome post that will blow your readers away and remind them why they kept checking your blog even though you hadn’t posted anything in days.  Sadly, I just don’t have it in me.  I do have lots of random thoughts, though.

Some day (probably late July after our big fundraiser is over), I am going to go back in time so that I can post pictures of Hailey’s dance recital, both girls’ birthday parties, and our beach trip. 

It is tradition in our house that we watch the video of the birthday girl’s “birth day”. As we were watching Hailey’s (she turned 6 on Friday), she said that that was the best time of her life because everyone was looking at her and no one else.  How in the world do we teach this child that she does NOT have to be the center of attention all the time??

Wal-Mart is starting to stock school supplies.  They have a whole wall of lunch boxes.  Is it weird that I can’t wait to take Hailey to pick a new lunch box?

I made fun of Webkinz when they first came out.  Hailey now owns two.  I have a feeling this is the beginning of a pattern.

Hailey purchased her second Webkinz with money she got from her Aunt Jo Ellen and Uncle Scott.  We found it at Limited Too because they are only one of 3 retailers in Crabtree that sell Webkinz.  I had a glimpse of the clothes my child will want to wear very, very soon…it scared me.

Hailey has just started her second week of Camp Voyager through the YMCA.  She loves it because she says all she has to do is play and eat!

The Lee County Schools Superintendent resigned today before a closed door School Board session regarding alleged immoral conduct…am I the only one who is really curious about that conduct?

The house I remember in little Washington had a banister halfway up the stairs followed by a wall. I used to sneak halfway down the stairs so that I could feel like I was closer to my parents but they couldn’t see me.  I even have a picture of me sitting on the steps with my head back.  I am wearing pajamas and an orange plastic bracelet and I am fast asleep. Ed just had me go in the hallway (at 9:44)…Leah was sitting on the floor with her legs crossed and her back against the wall.  She might have been hidden by the laundry basket if it wasn’t for the holes!  When she heard me, she covered her face with her hands.  I guess she thought if she couldn’t see me, I couldn’t see her.  too cute.

I just heard a new/old McDonald’s commercial with the twoallbeefpattiesspecialsaucelettucecheesepicklesonionsonasesameseedbun…it made me remember that I was SOOO proud when I was in middle school that I had that memorized and could say it super fast.  What a dork.

Speaking of McDonald’s commercials…do you remember the one where the teacher was leading her class through the rain and they were all wearing yellow slickers and saying “quack, quack, waddle, waddle”?  We had to cross the street to get to the beach on our vacation and we would walk single file and chant this.  Apparently I am still a dork.

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family, Just Emily and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Deep Thoughts with Emily

  1. Melissa W says:

    You were NOT the only one dying to know what “immoral conduct” is. My husband managed to get one version of the story. I don’t know how true it is, but I was a bit surprised that this particular type of thing would come to firing/resignation, but then I’ve never been one who enforces their moral code on others. Obviously I don’t have all the details…but based on what I was told, it did not involve children which was my main concern.

  2. Kim says:

    What’s wrong with being a “dork”? Those who don’t have any “dork” tendancies are missing all the REAL fun in life……

  3. Heidi says:

    Oh no- immoral conduct? I would be SO curious as to what that was!
    thanks for the tipa bout the lunch boxes- that’s one thing I always wait too long to get and then they are all gone. I’m headed there today anyway, I guess I’ll pick them up!

  4. kweenmama says:

    I love the idea of just writing random thoughts. Some days I just feel so RANDOM.

    I think we all have some dork tendencies.

    I enjoyed this post.

Leave a Reply

