Leah. Cut. Her. Hair.

I have calmed down…mostly.  I have waited 3 years to have a really nice over-the-mantel quality portrait made of the two of them.  This was planned for next week. And she cut her hair.  A big chunk.  Lots of little curls.  I think I might throw up. 

It was wet at the time and so I haven’t seen it dry yet (yes, I sent my child to bed with wet hair.  I was alittlebit upset, okay?).  I am scared to look at her in the morning.  I will probably just start crying again.

Have I mentioned on here that Hailey already has a chunk out of her hair on the same side of her head because her hair was “sticky”?  I guess Leah wanted to be like her big sis.  No more scissors for them until they are 20.

sigh.

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family, Haileyism/Leahism. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Leah. Cut. Her. Hair.

  1. Kim Pritt says:

    OMG!!!! Maybe it is “fixable” – especially with curly hair, it might not be as noticable……I’m trying to make it so you can actually get some sleep tonight – is it working???

  2. lindsayrose says:

    oh. my. god.

  3. emilypage says:

    I really don’t even know since I haven’t seen it dry. She usually pops out many times at night but she hasn’t left her room once. I think she is scared of me. Of course it is the side her hair parts on. If it was the other side, we could probably hide it with a bow. Between her hair, the weather, my schedule, and the photographer’s schedule, this may just be a dream I have to let go of.

    So Hailey has had her hair cut by another child once, Hailey has cut her own hair twice, and now Leah has cut her hair once. You’d think they would learn.

  4. Heidi says:

    OH NO! I hope once it’s dry you can find a way to “mask” the damage.
    My mom tells a story about when I was little I cut my bangs completely off and my explanation was “I wanted to look like the mailman”. 🙂 🙂 🙂
    Isn’t that usually the case with nice portraits? One of the kids does something horrendous to tehmselves right before? 😉

  5. Brian says:

    I cut my hair right in the front when I was about 3 or 4. It is my favorite picture of me from being a kid. I’m sure it will be ok 🙂

  6. kweenmama says:

    All four of my kids did that at least once. My oldest cut her bangs off the day before her kindergarten pictures. Thankfully hair grows back…not in time for a portrait next week…but at least it will eventually grow back. 🙂

  7. Kim Pritt says:

    OK, so what’s the verdict on how the hair turned out when it was dry – is it fixable without drastic measures?

  8. emilypage says:

    It is much better than I expected. I don’t think it is too moticeable. It really just looks like it is layered around her face.

    Leah has told me several times that she will not do it again. hmmm…we’ll see…Hailey said that when she was Leah’s age too and she just cut hers a few weeks ago.

    I don’t recall ever cutting my hair as a child, but I cut my bangs before the homecoming dance one year. I cut ABOVE my finger instead of under my finger…I have never gone near my hair with scissors since!

  9. Laura says:

    Ok, the only thing I can say is that the subject of your comment “You’d think they’d learn.” is all wrong (and I don’t mean the ‘you’ clause)!!! Been there, many times: Ray III took a chunk out of his bangs & we had to cut them so short he looked, as my mother would say, ‘like Ish Kabibble’ (see http://www.parabrisas.com/d_boguem.php). Glad to hear the damage isn’t to noticable…

  10. brian says:

    Just ran across a couple of Calvin and Hobbes comics about hair cutting. Thought you might find them funny. After reading the first…click on NEXT DAY and there are about 10 of them. I thought after your experience you might be able to relate a bit!

    http://www.gocomics.com/calvinandhobbes/2008/06/23/

Leave a Reply

