The Spoon Theory

I get a lot of hits on this site from people searching for information on fibromyalgia.  I don’t want this site to be all about fibromyalgia…just because I have to live with it doesn’t mean it has to BE my life, but I do want to occasionally post things that will help people with FMS or people who love someone with FMS to better understand and cope with this frustrating syndrome.

I found the website www.butyoudontlooksick.com tonight and read this story.  Although the writer, Christine Miserandino, is a woman with lupus, her spoon theory is a very accurate description of what it feels like to live with fibromyalgia.

PLEASE, if you are my friend or family member, I would really appreciate you reading this spoon theory.  I really think it will help you to understand me and the choices I have to make.  There are times that I do things because I feel embarrassed to not do them or to ask for help.  I don’t want to seem weak or to risk having people think I am a hypochondriac. I always pay the price for pushing myself too hard…and then I have to answer to Ed who knows that I know better.

If you don’t know me personally but you know someone who lives with a chronic illness or if you yourself have a chronic illness, I encourage you to read this article.

Thanks for taking the time to read the spoon theory.

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Fibromyalgia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Spoon Theory

  1. Melissa W says:

    I love the spoon theory. I read it a year or 2 ago and it is a great explanation. I don’t have fibro but my mother does (along with chronic fatigue syndrome) and I know it’s hard for her because people just don’t understand. This reminds me that I need to show this one to her…

  2. Kim Pritt says:

    I sent this to Mom, who suffers from Fibromyalgia, and she thought it was great and shared it with others with Fibro that she communicates through email with. Now, every day when we email each other, instead of saying she “did too much today and ran out of steam by late afternoon”, she says she “used too many spoons way too early and ran out!” It helped her look at it all differently and have a way to explain it to others!!! Thank you from me and her!!!

  3. Davina says:

    I have read and sent the Spoon Theory to many people in hopes that they will know what it feels like to live with Interstitial Lung Disease (Pulmonary Fibrosis). Fibromyalgia is another part of the disease I live with on a daily basis along with the fatigue of not getting enough oxygen in my system. My lungs are chronically inflammed and a minor cold could land me in the hospital for life threatening treatment.

    Everyone who is living with a disease that attacks the immune system should give the spoon theory to a friend. Because truly we don’t look sick but our bodies are attacking themselves.

    While I am no longer in denial about my illness my sister is and gets highly upset when I don’t want to go places or do things. I just don’t have the energy to do the things I use to do.

  4. Pingback: The Wonderful World of the Web « All I hear is blah, blah, blah

Leave a Reply

