I’m a what?

Hailey’s school had a workday today so today became an unofficial “take your daughter to work day” for Ed.  Today was disposition day at the courthouse so she was able to go with him to take care of some of his cases.  Judge Murphy was very nice to her and even offered to let her sit in his chair.  (She was just fine where she was thank-you-very-much.)  Ed said she did a wonderful job in court and was very well behaved.  (As a side-note, we have started a new positive reinforcement reward system that so far is working out very well).

They picked me up from work for an early lunch and we decided to go to Joe’s.  Hailey made up a knock-knock joke on the way to Joe’s and when Brian came to take our order, I asked her if she wanted to tell him her joke.  She was being uncharacteristically shy and so Brian asked if she would tell him before she left.

As we were leaving, Hailey remembered that she wanted to tell him her joke.  We went to find him and she told him her joke:

Knock Knock

Who’s There?

Joe

Joe Who?

Sloppy Joe

Anyway, Brian and I have had a running joke for the past five years about whether or not the main character in “A Walk to Remember” dies or not (I say she does, he says I am a pessimist and she lived).  After she told her joke, Brian told her he had something he wanted her to tell me when we got in the car.  Of course, I knew he was telling her to tell me she lived.

Hailey giggled all the way to the car and couldn’t wait to get it.  As soon as we got in, she asked if I was ready.  Then she proceeded to tell me,

“You’re a llama!!!”

_________________________________________________

This reminds me of another funny moment from this past weekend.  My in-laws and our friends Billy, Jenn, and Kelly were gracious enough to join us for a Saladmaster dinner so that we could earn a free wok (worth several hundred dollars I might add).  Billy had work still to finish at the paper so he had to leave the dinner early.  He was trying to make Hailey think he was leaving because she hurt his feelings which made Jenn exclaim, “Billy Liggett!”

Hailey looked at them both with a very surprised look and questioningly said, “Silly Niggett???”

Anyone up for a game of telephone?

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family, Haileyism/Leahism, Sanford and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

