In Motion

I had a wonderful experience at a local store yesterday.  In Motion is a dance/gymnastics/cheer leading store behind Angie’s Breakfast Barn on N. Horner. 

When I dropped Hailey off at her dance class, her teacher informed us that the recital costumes were ready to be picked up at In Motion.  Ed had already agreed to pick Hailey up from her class so I decided to seize the moment and go straight to the store.

As soon as I drove up, I noticed a clearance rack of leotards for $15.  Ed will tell you…I am a sucker for a sale.  I had just remarked that morning that I needed to get Hailey a new leotard for the summer as her current one is thick and long-sleeved.  It was meant to be! The sign on the door said that certain items were on sale for $7 so I decided to check out the sales inside the store first.

Nannette McCoy was the only one in the store and she greeted me very warmly.  I had Leah with me and she immediately showed Leah a box of Legos and small toys that she could play with while I browsed.

While Nannette found Hailey’s costumes, I browsed through the sale racks.  I immediately found a black ballet skirt with round and flower-shaped sequins…for $5!!  Score!  If you read my blog, you know that there is no way in the world Hailey will wear a leotard and tights without a skirt or shorts. 

Dance bags were on sale for $7.  I cannot tell you how much time I spent on-line and in stores before Christmas trying to find a dance bag for Hailey.  My ideal bag would have been a pink backpack with a separate compartment for shoes and a place to have Hailey’s name embroidered.  I found cute bags, but could not find one with a separate compartment for shoes.  Excuse me for being picky, but I did not want dirty shoes mingling with clean dance wear.  It was easy to find the dance boxes with shoe compartments, but…a box??  No thanks.  I did finally find a pink quilted bag with pockets on the inside for shoes…but it was apparently too small and poorly made and the whole front ripped off. 

I did not find a bag for Hailey on the sale rack but while I was checking out the shoes,  I found a black drawstring backpack with ballet slippers and the words “dance star” on it…with a SEPARATE ZIPPERED compartment on the bottom for shoes!!  I asked Nannette if it was on sale and she said it wasn’t, but she would give it to me for the $7 sale price (the tag said $18).  Again, SCORE!

There was another pink plush dance bag with a plush dancer on the front that was adorable and Leah zeroed in on it and said she wanted that one.  I plan on enrolling her in the next dance session after she turns 3 so I told her I would get it for her for her birthday.  A $20 bag for $7!!

Two birthday presents down (Leah’s birthday is in May and Hailey’s is in June) so it was time to go back to check out the leotards.  I called Leah to come outside with me but Nannette said it was okay if she kept playing and that if Leah decided she wanted to go outside, she would walk her out to me.  Really??? Cool!

I had a really hard time choosing because they were all awesome but I knew I could only afford to buy one leotard. After consulting with Nannette, I chose a super, super soft Carolina blue one with criss-crossed straps in the back.  Super cute.  (Hailey was very excited about the color!)  A $28 leotard for $15!

I went in for two dance costumes and came out with two dance costumes (including tights for each), 2 dance bags, a leotard, and a dance skirt.  I was a little giddy from my good fortune!  For the record, the two dance costumes (including tights) TOGETHER cost $40.  If you have ever had a child in dance or know someone who has, you should know that that is super cheap.

In Motion also carries shoes (including wide widths), hair bows, jewelry, purses, and more!  I will be back when it is time for new shoes.  They carry Capezio brand shoes and they are only a few dollars more than the shoes at Payless…and SO much better quality!

I am so excited that Hailey’s dance teacher, Chanel, chose to order their costumes from In Motion.  I just wish I had known about this store years ago!

In Motion
1223 N Horner Blvd # B
Sanford, NC 27330
(919) 777-6689
About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Sanford and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Motion

  1. Anonymous says:

    I have known Nannette for along time and she is the best.

Leave a Reply

