Chickens, Caterpillars, Cell Phones and Butterflies

Leah’s class was learning about birds this week so one of her teacher’s brought in 5 little chickens to show the kids.  Julie had even put a wooden dowel through the cardboard box so that the chickens could roost. They were a big hit and they were certainly missed today!  Leah thought it was very cool that there were real live chickens in her classroom.  My grandmother raised chickens so I grew up around them and would get so excited when there were new “biddies”.  These were a little older but still had a little down on their heads.  They made very sweet chirping sounds.  I missed hearing them today as I walked around the building.

Today’s fascination is caterpillars.  Leah told me about seeing one crawling through the grass on the playground but he would not crawl in her hand.  She later saw a baby caterpillar and she touched him but he “did not bite her” for which she was grateful!

Leah had a long talk with Lindsay on my cell phone as we drove to pick Hailey up from the Y.  She gave her a running commentary of the drive home…”there is a yellow bus and it is at the school…that is a blue van and there is a blue car…that little boy’s mom is wearing a yellow shirt…”  When Lindsay had to speak to someone who came in the office, Leah got very indignant and told me that “she won’t talk to me.”  My favorite is when she holds the phone up to something and says “see?”…I can’t convince her that the people on the other end can’t see what she sees through the phone.  I think the fact that I have picture caller-id confuses her!

As I type, she is strumming on Ed’s guitar and singing a made-up song about butterflies.  She just told me she is going to sing “Edelweis”.  How many 2 year olds do you know that love “The Sound of Music” and can sing the songs?

This is my favorite age. 

P.s. The next post will be about the books!

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family, Haileyism/Leahism and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

