Catching Up

I have failed miserably as a blog writer lately.  Between family and work, life just simply got in the way.  Here are some notes from the past week:

  • I am not as young as I think I am.  We went roller skating on Saturday.  If you read my last post on roller skating, you know that I broke my elbow the last time I tried to skate.  I have been wanting to try again for years and finally convinced Ed to go to Jelly Beans in Cary.  I was very hesitant and so scared that I was going to lose my balance and break something.  I was afraid to hold Hailey’s hand because I didn’t want her to knock me off balance.  I had to take frequent breaks and finally my thighs were quivering so badly I had to give it up.  I promised Ed it was out of my system and I will not be asking to go again.  There – it is in writing.  I hope he holds me to it.  Getting out of bed on Sunday was a difficult task!  Leah was too cute in her tiny skates.  She tried her best but I am confidant we won’t be hearing her ask to go back anytime soon.
  • Our next excursion was to Chuck E. Cheese.  This was a first for me and I absolutely loved it.  We had a great time and learned that I should never be allowed near a slot machine.
  • Leah and I had to stay home Thursday and Friday because she had strep.  She asked me one day where her daddy was and I told her he was at work.  She told me that daddy got people out of jail because the big mean witch put them there and they missed their mommy and daddy. 
  • Leah also had her second UTI so she now has to go to UNC for testing to determine if she has urinary reflux.  This will involve a catheter.  I have had two children without epidurals and one catheter.  I would choose childbirth any day.  I wonder if they provide the mom with a sedative!
  • I love Zelda (my GPS).  I had to go to Raleigh yesterday to “defend” my budget proposal.  I decided I wanted to eat at Zaxby’s for lunch since we do not have one in Sanford.  Even though I grew up in Raleigh, learned to drive there, and go there often to visit our parents, I have no directional sense whatsoever and do not have confidence in my abilities to get from point A to point B without getting lost.  Normally I would not venture off my main course, but I knew Zelda would get me from Zaxby’s to our state office in the “fastest time possible”.  On the way home I realized I needed gas.  I took an exit because of the “gas next right” sign.  It was just my luck that there was not one of those signs that tells you which direction to go and for how many miles.  Zelda to the rescue!  I just clicked on the gas pump icon and she led me where I needed to go and got me back on the road with no problems. 
  • I got carded today.  It was at Wal-Mart and they card everyone under 40, but it still felt great! 
  • Our book club discussed To Kill A Mockingbird tonight. If you have not read this book since middle school or high school, you should really read it again.  It is a great book and even though it is set in the 30s, the messages still hold true.
  • My sister, Jo Ellen (aka “Your Far Away Sister”) gave me a B&N gift card for my birthday.  One of the things I got was a “Too Cool for School” box set that includes “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off”, “Pretty in Pink”, and “Some Kind of Wonderful”.  I just need “Can’t Buy Me Love” and I am all set!  I can’t wait to watch them this weekend!
  • When I found out Leah had strep and had to be home, we went straight to the movie store and got “Freaky Friday” (the original, of course!), “Shaggy DA” (we watched the black and white version), and “Follow that Bird”.  I’m sure I enjoyed them more than she did, but it was fun to revisit those old movies.  We also had to get “Princess Diaries”.  We have PD2 and Leah is obsessed.  She will be 3 next month and she wants a “Princess Diaries” party.
  • Hailey, Lindsay and I went shopping at the Kids Kloset consignment sale.  We were really going to look for outdoor toys for the center but ended up looking for clothes for Hailey.  Lindsay got to experience first hand how difficult Hailey is to clothe.  She shot down almost everything we showed her.  I was trying to get her excited about shorts or a short skirt for the summer.  She finally agreed on 2 pink skirts and black gauchos (so cute).  When she put on one of the skirts on Saturday, she told me it would be rude to wear it because it was too high above her knees.  ARGH!  She wanted to wear a white shirt and the only one she has is a tank top.  She asked if she could wear a sweater over it because she did not want her arms to show.  How many moms do you know that fight with their girls to wear shorts and tank tops??
  • I’m sure there is plenty more, but for the two of you who have read this far, I promise to try and keep up a little better!
About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family, Haileyism/Leahism, Just Emily, Movies, Sanford and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Catching Up

  1. Kim Pritt says:

    Welcome back — there were probably more than two of us who read it all the way through…..ha-ha

  2. jennrstclair says:

    It’s about time Queenie.

  3. burnsblog says:

    I was excited to see something new! And Kim is right, more than two read all the way through!

  4. your far away sister says:

    woohoo something new to read! hope you are having a great weekend with your clean house!!

Leave a Reply

