Me (as a child) vs. My Kids

Me: Tang at breakfast, Kool-Aid at lunch, Sweet Tea at dinner

My Kids: Milk at breakfast and dinner, Gatorade at lunch

Me: Nesquik out of a can with a lid you had to pry open

Nestlé Nesquik logo

My Kids: Nesquik out of a boring plastic box

Me: Metal Sesame Street Lunch Box

VINTAGE 1979 SESAME STREET METAL LUNCH BOX by ALADDIN

My Kids: Pink camouflage -insulated lunch bag

Me: Awesome home-cooked meal from scratch every night

My (poor) Kids: Awesome home-cooked meal sometimes

Me: Smurfs

This image is a candidate for speedy deletion. It may be deleted after Thursday, 15 November 2007.

My Kids: Harry Potter

Me: Fisher Price Little People and Matchbox Cars

My Kids: Dolls, dolls, and more dolls

Me: Dolls that talk when you pull a string

My Kids: Dolls that talk when you install batteries

Me: Summers and “preschool” at Grandmama’s

My Kids: Child Care and YMCA

Me: A mom who can do anything

My Kids: A mom who still takes her sewing to HER mom

Me: Free rein to ride my bike and play outside

My Kids: Not allowed to play out of my sight outside

Me: Intellevision

My Kids: Hopefully PS3 someday!

Me: TV with no remote and an antenna on the roof

My kids: HD TV with an antenna on the floor (someday maybe we will have satellite again!)

Me: Superman and Follow that Bird in movie theaters

Follow that Bird

My Kids: A large collection of Disney movies

Me: A toy poodle naked Trixie and a cat named Fluffy (and lots of her offpsring)

My Kids: Two beagles named Copper and Daisy and a cat named Buster

Me: A manual typewriter

My Kids: A computer

Me: 9 1st cousins, 5 Aunts, 6 Uncles

My Kids: 4 1st cousins, 4 Aunts, 5 Uncles

Me: Learned to ski at 22

My Kids: Hailey learned to ski at 3

Me: Kindergarten where you play in centers

My Kids: Kindergarten where you learn to read and do math

Me: Raised as a Wolfpacker

My Kids: Raised as TAR HEELS!!

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Me (as a child) vs. My Kids

  1. jennrstclair says:

    Nesquik out of the cool can with the lid was so much better. And, wasn’t it just Quik back then?

    Be sure to ask Billy about his Quik can…

  2. your far away sister says:

    red kool-aid in the cool plastic cups with Grandmama’s cookies to dip in it… thanks for the yummy memory…

    and, hello, who had the nintendo????????

  3. emilypage says:

    Don’t forget drinking out of the measuring cups, too!

    You mean the Nintendo I got in MIDDLE SCHOOL with a sum total of two games that I was terrible at? We actually have that Nintendo hooked up to our HD TV. We are so weird. And I am still terrible at everything but Tetris and Dr. Mario.

    I bet I could still play a mean game of Astrosmash or Kool-Aid Man on Intellevision…”Kool-Aid, Kool-Aid, tastes great…Kool-Aid, Kool-Aid, Can’t wait!”

  4. Kim Pritt says:

    Hey, Emily — where have you been — is everything OK????

Leave a Reply

