Mean Girls

I knew having girls and enduring the preteen and teenage years would be a challenge.  I did not know, however, that some of the issues I thought would not come up for years would actually occur in Kindergarten.  Kindergarten for me was all about building with blocks, “cooking” in the housekeeping center, sand and water play, journals, recess, and playing with my friends.  I went to a K-12 school in Bath, NC and we had a grand total of 2 kindergarten classrooms.   We were all friends and I never remember anyone being mean.  I was the only child in my grade level with glasses until 4th grade.  I was a prime candidate for mean remarks.  I actually remember being kind of upset when the new girl with glasses started because I was no longer special.  I did not encounter bullies or mean children until I moved to Raleigh in 5th grade. 

The issue we are dealing with now is that Hailey does not want to wear shorts.

She says her legs are too fat.

Yes, you read that right, my KINDERGARTNER thinks her legs are too fat.  She even grabbed her thigh and said to me, “Look at that.  It’s so big.”  According to her, she has been listening to older girls at the Y talk about fat and skinny after school.  She has been looking at other girl’s legs and has decided hers are too big. 

We have talked and talked and talked about this and I really don’t know what else to do.  At a loss of what else to say, I finally told her she was going to be hot.  She told me she was wearing a short-sleeved shirt and the air would go down her armpits to her legs and cool off her legs.

I knew peer pressure started earlier these days, I just didn’t realize how much earlier.

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mean Girls

  1. M W says:

    I just can’t believe this — it makes me sad and it scares me. If I ever have a girl I know this kind of stuff will tear me up. I know that Dove has some resources available via their “Campaign for Real Beauty” that may be worth looking at. I just don’t know if any of it is geared towards girls as young as your daughter.

    http://www.campaignforrealbeauty.com/home.asp

  2. Kathy says:

    I think you could mention this to the Kindergarten teacher. I am a teacher, and I welcome input like this. We could have a class discussion about body differences, and healthy bones and muscles, and strength and fitness. It might be a wonderful opportunity for the children to learn to see things differently.

  3. emilypage says:

    Thanks…I had not thought of that since this occured at the Y after school but that is a good idea!

  4. This is awful. I worry about all this so much. I started worrying at the 20 week ultrasound actually. Sometimes I get worried cause I flipantly will comment on how something makes me look fat. I try really hard not to do this especially in front of the girls, but it is a bad habit. Good golly, this starts in Kindergarten?? How scary.

Leave a Reply

