Roller Skatin’ Mama

RecreationThe girls were stir crazy this weekend and wanted to do something fun.  We wanted to take them roller skating on Sunday but Skate Party USA here in Sanford was not open and we did not want to travel out of town.  I was disappointed but we put it on the radar for a weekend in the near future.

I was both excited and sad to learn that Hailey is going skating with the Y tomorrow (she is in year-round school so she is at “camp” this week).  I used to love to skate and have wanted to take it up again but was banned by my husband for the past few years (more on that later).  I can’t believe that days after I wanted to introduce Hailey to skating, someone else gets to take her for the first time and I won’t be there to see it or take pictures or video (yes, I’m one of THOSE moms!).

I grew up between Bath and Washington here in NC. There wasn’t much to do in town.  Going skating was a BIG deal.  I may be wrong, but I think we actually had to travel to Greenville to go skating.  We mostly went with our church youth group.  I thought skating was SO COOL.  I had plastic skates when I was about Hailey’s age and then I graduated to my sister’s adjustable metal skates that attached to your tennis shoes.  We had a smooth concrete carport and a rough concrete driveway.  I spent so much time outside skating.  Even though it was a lot smaller than a skating rink, I loved to pretend that the carport was my own skating rink.  It was as smooth as a rink and I went ’round and ’round in circles.  I think I fancied myself an Olympic-caliber skater (even though I couldn’t even “shoot the duck” without falling on my bottom).

When we moved to Raleigh, I was thrilled that there was a rink not far from our house.  I wish I could express to you how cool I thought I was when I was skating.  I loved the feeling of speed and loved gliding effortlessly around the corners.  Again, I thought I was a much better skater than I was.  I never even learned to successfully stop without slamming into the wall.

My favorite skating rink in Raleigh is now a store-it-yourself facility.  So sad.

I have been inside Skate Party USA here in Sanford exactly once in the past 8 years.  I was in there for about 15 minutes.  Just long enough to rent my skates, tie them on, stand up, fall backwards…and break my elbow.  Did I mention this was at a Wyeth WELLNESS Committee event?  I was leaning down to get Hailey’s attention (she wasn’t even 2 yet) and I stood up too fast and went straight backwards.  Not being able to move my arm was sickening to me.  I was humiliated.  I worked in HR and knew just about every person in the building at the time and almost everyone saw me fall.

The whole episode got worse when it was discovered that I was allergic to fiberglass and had to have my cast cut off.  I had a very bad case of cellulitis from the cast and was not able to have it casted at all.  Fun.

and yet…I still want to skate again.  Soon.

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family, Sanford and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Roller Skatin’ Mama

  1. Jamie says:

    I was a HUGE roller skating fan when I was younger. There was Friday night skating at Ringing Rocks, but the big thing for my friends and I was roller skating around the neighborhood. One Christmas, my best friend Diane got the most amazing skates (they probably cost $100), and I was so jealous. My family couldn’t afford $100 skates, but my grandfather, who worked at a dump, salvaged a pair of skates that someone had discarded and attached them to the bottom of a pair of Carolina blue sneakers in my size. They weren’t nearly as professional as Diane’s, but I thought they were the coolest ever.

    As a side note, one night when I was a teenager, I was going through photo albums with my grandmother, and there were tons of photographs of her in roller skates wearing what looked like figure skating costumes. I asked her about them and she explained that she was once a member of a competitive roller skating team – not roller derby, but more like group figure skating. The next time I went to Ringing Rocks, I found her picture, as a member of that team, displayed in a photo in the concession area. So cool!

Leave a Reply

