Cards, Birthdays, Books, and Basketball

That pretty much sums up my weekend.

Cards- 

My mom in all her wonderfullness (it is my blog, I can make up words if I want to) kept the girls on Friday and let them spend the night.  We had a great time with Jennifer and Billy at Joe’s.  I love that Joe’s has a non-smoking side now.  You still leave smelling like smoke, but you don’t notice it when you are actually inside.

After we left Joe’s, we played Texas Hold Em’ at our house.  I won’t go into specifics, but I do believe that the girls each had more chips than the boys at the end.  Copper and Daisy were ecstatic to have fellow dog lovers in the house to shower them with attention.

UNO was the card game of choice tonight.  Hailey beat me soundly two times in a row.  She never even had to draw a card from the pile.  I won my hand against Ed but I really wish we had timed the game.  I truly think it was the longest game of UNO I have ever played with just two people.  We had to shuffle the discard pile several times.  

Birthdays-

We celebrated Hunter’s birthday on Saturday with our family.  Jimmy and Julie provided an excellent dinner as always so we left very satisfied.   They recently went to PA on Spring Break and brought me back a Hershey’s glass filled with chocolate.  My sister knows what makes the world go ’round!  Although the good people at Hershey’s would probably cringe to know that I will be drinking my Nestle Nesquik out of that glass!

Hailey wanted so desperately to keep up with the big kids.  At one point she told them to slow down and exclaimed that she was “just a little girl!”

We celebrated my father-in-law’s birthday today.  Now my dad AND my father-in-law are twice my age!  Brunch was fabulous and Bob even got candles in his ice cream!

Books-

I finished Icy Sparks by Gwyn Hyman Rubio.  I don’t feel like writing a full review so I will just say that it was “ok”.  It wasn’t a page-turner for me and I really prefer books I can’t put down.

I have started re-reading To Kill a Mockingbird.  It is our book group’s book for the month.  I feel like I am back in school.

Basketball-

We all know how thrilled I was to have UNC win yesterday.  I was pulling hard for Davidson today and hate it for them that they couldn’t pull it out in the end.  I hope going up against the school he coached at for 15 years won’t break Roy’s focus.  Hopefully it will make our guys dig a little deeper to get the win.  I do think it is pretty cool that this is the first time ever that all four #1 teams are in the final four.

I hope everyone has a great week!

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family, Haileyism/Leahism, Sanford, UNC and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

