The little green monster

Smiley Green Monster

We are having serious issues with jealousy in our house.  I spent the last 10 days with Hailey and Leah and had to be very careful with dividing my affections and my attention.  Here are some questions I got from Hailey this week:

“How come when you look at Leah you smile and when you look at me you make a face like this (she frowned)?” (ok, I probably do frown at her more than I do Leah but she WHINES and I HATE whining!)

(at a restaurant) “Why does Leah get to sit by you and I have to sit across from you?”

“Why do you love Leah more than you love me?” (too bad there is no way to prove you love both your kids the same)

“Why does Leah get all the hugs?” (and if you believe that, you are crazy)

“Did you do that with me when I was Leah’s age?” (Yes, only more because we just had you!)

“Why does Leah get a purple egg and I have a pink one?” (yeah, you just have to roll your eyes at that one)

Not to mention all the times she dissolved in tears because Leah had come to snuggle beside me first.  Hailey would not think to do something until she saw Leah do it and then she would be offended at ME that she had not thought of it first.

I wanted to minimize the fighting and whining on Easter morning so I was very careful to buy duplicates of everything for their baskets.  I bought two small dolls but they had different outfits – one was dressed as a duck and one as a bunny.  I did this to minimize fighting over whose was whose.  I asked Ed who should get what and he made a good point that the bunny would probably be the more popular one and Leah would not care if Hailey got it but Hailey would care if Leah got it.  sigh.  If only it was that easy.  The bunny outfit had feet and the duck outfit did not.  Hailey’s question?  “How come you can see the toes on Leah’s doll but you can’t see them on mine?”  argh!!!  We can’t win!

We have talked to Hailey until we are blue in the face (Carolina blue, to be exact) but this is just something she is going to have to get over and grow out of.

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The little green monster

  1. kweenmama says:

    Your post made me laugh. I used to have to be so careful with my girls as well.

  2. billyliggett says:

    Yeah, yeah. It’s interesting and all. My question is “Why do you read Jennifer’s blog and not mine? Do you like her more?”

  3. emilypage says:

    yep…and I’m mad that you did not share your Cherry Chocolate Dr. Pepper

  4. Jamie says:

    I am right there with you. Our big issue right now is that I still stay with Anthony (who is 2) until he falls asleep, while we expect Cera (who is 5) to go to sleep on her own (after reading books and getting tucked in, of course). Some nights she dissolves into tears before we even turn off the light.

    And you are so right – we can not win.

Leave a Reply

