Great Birthday

Besides the usual reasons like being with family, gifts and birthday cake, here are some reasons why I had a great birthday yesterday:

1. My mom let me choose what I wanted for dinner AND she made homemade cinnamon rolls AND two cakes AND sourdough bread.

2. My Heels won (although I almost had a heart attack in the last few seconds).

no-pschocelebration.jpg

Photo by Robert Willett, N&O

3. For the only time in our lifetimes (and only for the next month), I am exactly half as old as my dad (my 32 to his 64).

4. I was in Raleigh when a funnel cloud was spotted heading towards Lee County.  It was stressful, but not nearly as nerve-wracking as if I had been home.  I am petrified of tornadoes.

A tornado in central Oklahoma. The tornado itself is the thin tube reaching from the cloud to the ground. The lower part of this tornado is surrounded by a translucent dust cloud, kicked up by the tornado's strong winds at the surface

5. Yesterday was also one year from the day that we walked into our current house for the first time.  Ed was holding out on letting me go see it because we had not even put our house on the market yet, but when I asked to go see it for my birthday, how could he resist?  It was love at first sight and a few months later, it was ours!

dsc_1443-wince.jpg

And TODAY is a great day because Ed proposed to me 11 years ago today.

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Great Birthday

  1. Kim Pritt says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! I’m glad it was so perfect for you!!!! (but….just to pick on you…..I think you are actually exactly HALF as old as your Dad — I certainly hope you aren’t really TWICE as old as he is – I think the Guiness Book of Records folks would be beating down your door!!!) ha-ha Hope the rest of the year is just as great until you can have another wonderful birthday!!!

  2. emilypage says:

    oops! Thanks for that! And thanks for the birthday wishes!

  3. your far away sister says:

    Happy Birthday!!!!
    Go Heels!!!!

  4. Jess says:

    Some Like it Southern won The Love List’s Blog Botox giveaway – but thank you for entering and commenting, I appreciate every lady who stopped by during the party, and I’ll link to your blog in my after party post later this week 🙂 You still have a chance to get a nip and tuck for your blog of your very own! Just head on over to Poppy Seed Designs at http://www.poppyseeddesign.net and order your own blog makeover – it’s a bargain at 99 bucks!

  5. jennrstclair says:

    Emily! Happy Birthday!!!

    I’m glad you had such a great day! Send your Mom over next year for mine, though, OK?

Leave a Reply

