What a mess!

Someone came in our house while we were at work today and threw clothes, toys, books, and papers all over the place.  Really.  I couldn’t have been us.  SURELY our family could not have made this much of a mess.  When you can’t walk from one end of the house to the other in a straight line, you know you have a problem. 

One of my goals next week is to go through the girls room, their playroom, and our office and get rid of a lot of stuff we don’t need or don’t use.  When we were trying to sell our house, we rented a P.O.D. so that we could pack up and store a lot of our stuff and stage our house with just what we needed to get by.  Our house looked so much bigger and we were able to clean in minutes.  It was very refreshing to not have to see and deal with clutter.

And you know what?  Our kids were just as happy then with the few toys we left out for them as they are now with their whole playroom of toys.  I think the more toys kids have, the less they actually play with toys because they are so overwhelmed by all the choices. 

The goal is always to have the girls clean up their stuff before they go to bed, but in reality, it doesn’t always happen.  During weeks like this one when I am swamped with work, I have a choice: I can enforce the clean up rule and drag out the time it takes them to get to bed, or I can let them leave stuff out and get back to my work sooner.

Yes, I KNOW consistency is key and I have all kinds of advice when I am asked by parents…but in reality…well let’s just say I have to be better at listening to my own advice!

back to work!

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What a mess!

  1. Tammy Hebert says:

    Emily – so true. We rented a pod when we put our house on the market so it staged well. I loved the totally uncluttered no unnecessary items. I even told the family – maybe we can just auction off the stuff in the pod. They freaked but now with my house a mess all the time I also wish it could be “staged” for life. 🙂 Maybe we need to hold a huge Rosemount-McIver park “clearing to stage” yard sale weekend. I’m there.
    tammy

  2. emilypage says:

    oohhh…do you think we could use the parking lot where we had nat’l night out?

  3. Tammy Hebert says:

    Sounds good. Maybe we should try to organize a Saturday later when it is warmer and let everyone do it the same time so it would get lots of traffic..
    I’ll check into that and get back to you..
    We have always organized ours down here on the 500 block of Summitt to all do it the same day and we got lots of traffic..
    tammy

Leave a Reply

