Grouchy mom

 

I hate this time of year.  Budget time.  When I am at work, constant interruptions makes it difficult to concentrate on my budget.  When I am at home, my kids make it even more difficult.  Leah wants to snuggle, Hailey either wants to read what I am working on over my shoulder or give me a picture every 2 minutes (seriously, my living room floor is covered at the moment by about 20 large pieces of paper covered in everything from rainbows to portraits of me). 

I WANT to snuggle, I WANT to ooh and aah over every carefully colored picture.  I WANT to sit on the floor and play a game. The problem is, after a long day at work, it is too easy to get frustrated with my girls when I am trying to get work done. 

I tried to explain to them on the way home that I had to get back to my work as soon as we got home because I was staying home with them all of next week and had to have my work done before then.  I told them we would do all kids of fun things next week, but that they had to let me get through the next few days first.  Why I try to reason with a 5 and 2 year-old is beyond me.

At one point tonight, Hailey was asking me how to spell “birthday” and I got snappy with her and told her to sound it out and spell it herself because I really had to work.  It is a sign of how focused I was on my budget that I did not even make the connection until she brought me a handmade card and told me “Happy Birthday, Mommy” (my birthday is Saturday).  Yeah, I felt like a heel.  The front says “To Mom” and the inside says “I love you.  You love me.  You are nice.”  What is missing?  “Happy Birthday”…because I couldn’t take the time to spell “birthday” for her.  sigh.

I know I am not a bad mom, but there are certainly plenty of times where I realize I am not always the mom I want to be.  I have tried really, really hard to not work at all on the weekends lately and I am going to try just as hard (after the budget is done, of course!) to not bring work home or to only tackle it after the girls are in bed. 

Hopefully I can plan a fabulous week for them next week that will help us all to forget how grouchy I have been this week.  Only 2 more work days until Spring Break!

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Grouchy mom

  1. justlovehim says:

    Awww…I feel ya, I really do. I pray daily that God would make me the mother he wants me to be. Some days I know I don’t spend enough quality time with my daughter, and it makes me feel like the world’s worst mom! Hang in there!

  2. jamiestamm says:

    I completely understand. And I hope you have a wonderful time with your girls next week.

  3. Cheryl says:

    Thanks for stopping by. I definitely understand and can relate with you. I’ll be praying for you!

  4. M W says:

    Totally know what you mean! I’ve noticed I snap at my kids a lot lately and it makes me feel just terrible.

  5. Heidi says:

    I did that not too long ago with my kid’s rooms- and they were SO HAPPY with the results! They were gone one day and i got rid of SO many bags full of toys, and they were thrilled with all the “new stuff” they came home to! It wasn’t new stuff, it was stuff they couldn’t find in all the mess! 🙂

Leave a Reply

