Houdini the Cat

buster-wince.jpgIf we knew then what we know now, we surely would have named Buster “Houdini” instead.  Buster is still a kitten and does not know yet that he can’t just jump up on or scratch away at anything he wants.  For that reason, he is limited to the girls’ bathroom and the playroom while we are out of the house.  There is a couch in the playroom that he can lounge on the back of while watching the comings and goings on our street.  He has food, water, toys, a scratchy thingy (articulate, I know), and his kitty litter box.  But is he satisfied?  Oh no!  He is not happy unless he has the run of the whole house.  We will close all the doors before we leave and test the locks and yet, we still come home and find him out and about.  Yesterday while checking the mail, I could see his little head peeking out from between the curtains as he lounged on the back of the “good” couch.  Today I came home and found him lying next to the dogs’ kennel.  I’m sure they just love it when they are locked in their kennel and he is prancing around outside the kennel. 

An aside here for anyone who thinks we are terrible for having our dogs in a kennel while we are gone for the day.  When we are home, all they do is drape themselves over the furniture and sleep.  They can do that just as easily in a kennel. They have a large kennel to share and they like to snuggle together.  We have tried letting them be out in a room or two and they will find SOMETHING to destroy.  They only do this if we are not home. 

Anyway, Buster is just remarkable at opening latched doors.  Granted, our house is 88 years old this year so the mechanisms are not the best, but still…I am a little in awe of him.  We close our bedroom doors at night and almost every night we will hear a squeak alerting us to the fact that Buster has opened the door and is off wandering the house.  I love to watch him on his back working his paws under the door to get it open.  He will also do it when he is trying to get to us.  If you try to close the door on the bathroom, it won’t be long before you see his little white paws come under the door.

Buster can also hear you getting the milk jug out of the fridge.  If you so much as TOUCH the milk jug, he comes flying into the kitchen in the hopes that you will either give him a taste or leave your glass unattended so that he can sneak a taste.

We’re still learning about living with a cat!

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Pets and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Houdini the Cat

  1. Brian says:

    Dogs and cats…how do yours get along? We have adopted a stray here in Japan and I am doomed to forever own this cat I think. Amy wants to get a dog at some point though, and I just am not sure Skoshi(Japanese for “little”) would be able to get along a dog.

  2. emilypage says:

    Brian –
    Our dogs are 9 and I think their maturity helped. I searched online discussions to see how other people had managed to bring their cats and dogs together and we followed the advice for beagles and jacks and it worked much more quickly than I thought it would. All 3 of them are sleeping on the couch with me right now. Have patience and treats and you can make it work! I love the name Skoshi! Hope all is well in Japan!

Leave a Reply

