Parenthood

About 98% of the time, Leah is very, very good about listening and following directions…but, she is 2.  This afternoon was part of the 2%.  As we were walking into the Y to get Hailey, Leah asked me if she could have a treat.  I asked her if she thought she deserved a treat. 

Leah’s answer? 

“I think no”

yep, you think right.

I took them to the library this afternoon.  Hailey said it was her favorite place (Hailey’s favorite place is wherever she happens to be at the time…she even loves the dentist).  Next time, I will just take Hailey.  Leah hid in the corner, told me every book I showed her was scary, wanted to go the opposite direction from me, and refused to talk quietly.  I used to LOVE getting library books.  I love the crinkly sound the plastic dust jackets make.  I love the smell of a book that is brand new or has not been opened in awhile.  I am so glad that I have passed on my love of books to Hailey.

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family, Haileyism/Leahism. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Parenthood

  1. your far away sister says:

    I hear you on the library. I actually prefer looking at Barnes and Noble-at least no one shushes you there.

    speaking of the smells and sounds…let’s not forget the thrill of brand new school supplies… a pristine, never-before written in spiral notebook…. the smell and perfection of a brand new box of 64 crayons…

Leave a Reply

