Things I learned from my sister, Julie

Because of our age difference (I won’t say how many years so that I don’t get in trouble), I didn’t always have my oldest sister, Julie, around.  When she was around, I was either pestering her (I would hide behind the furniture in the living room when she had dates over and annoy her) or she was mean to me (sorry, Julie…you were…you played hide and go seek with Jo Ellen and I and you did not seek…that is just plain mean). 

When Ed passed the bar exam and was looking for a job, he decided to call the DA for the 11th district just to see if they had any openings because we loved Sanford, knew Julie and her family loved it, wanted to live in a small town, and wanted to be able to see Julie, Jimmy, and our nephew, Jay, often.  We were thrilled to learn that there was in fact an opening in the Lee County DAs office and Ed got the job.  I feel very fortunate to have lived in the same town as Julie for the past seven years.   I have been able to watch her parenting style with her two boys and much of how Ed and I parent is based on what we learned from Julie and Jimmy.  Here are some of my favorite things I have learned from Julie:

  1. Laugh – no matter what is broken, ruined, stained, or lost…find a way to laugh about it because in the grand scheme of life, it really doesn’t matter.
  2. You are never going to have enough money to have children…money isn’t important, family is.
  3. Don’t scrimp and buy cheap cat food or you will pay for it later.
  4. Pay attention when filling out your address on work-related orders or you might just come home to find huge boxes of prom stuff on your front porch.
  5. If your kids want to just eat Cheerios and milk for every meal…let them.  They won’t do it forever.
  6. If your kids want to sleep in your bed now and then…let them.  They are only little once.
  7. Don’t stress about potty training.  They’ll get it on their own time. 
  8. Every child is different and you have to relate to them differently because of their differences.
  9. If someone offers to buy something for you…let them. 
  10. Help your children discover their passion and listen when they tell you they aren’t interested in an activity. 
  11. Finding a good deal on a great purse is reason to celebrate.
  12. You should buy yourself a birthday present.
  13. Let your children make their own mistakes…they’ll learn.
  14. The adventures you have with your children are more important than the “stuff” you give them.
  15. Kids heal…don’t stress.
  16. Petri dishes are a cool way to keep your matching jewelry together.
  17. Instant mashed potatoes can taste better than the real thing – and they are a heck of a lot easier.
  18. You can never have too many earrings.
  19. When you are pregnant, no one, and I mean, no one, will take care of you like Wesley Tyler, CNM.
  20. If you aren’t the best cook…marry someone who is.
About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things I learned from my sister, Julie

  1. your far away sister says:

    yeah, as mean as she is she is pretty wise. :-)

    but you forgot #21 – Chocolate. enough said.

  2. Pingback: I guess I DIDN’T learn after all! « All I hear is blah, blah, blah

Leave a Reply

