Martian Child

The Martian Child 

This movie did not get very good reviews, but I loved it.  It is based on a true story which feeds my need to peek into other people’s lives.  A recently widowed science-fiction writer (John Cusack) has the opportunity to adopt a 6 year old little boy (Bobby Coleman) who was abandoned by his parents.  The little boy says he is from Mars and believes it with every cell in his being.  He even wears a weight belt made with duct tape and batteries so that he won’t float away because Mars is trying to pull him back. When we first meet him, he is spending his days inside an Amazon box so that he is shielded from the sun. 

I don’t like science fiction, but by the end of the movie, he had me questioning if just maybe he could be from Mars…he could taste the color of M&Ms…that just isn’t normal human behavior!

I love John Cusack and thought he was very realistic in his awkwardness and uncertainty that he was doing the right thing.  Bobby Coleman was awesome.  Look to see more of him in the future as he proved himself as a serious actor. 

Amanda Peet and Joan Cusack also star in this funny, heart-warming movie about parenting, relationships, trust, and the struggles of a special needs child trying to fit in.

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

