Gimghoul Castle

I don’t like  hate secrets.  I hate when people tell me they know something I don’t know but they can’t tell me.  Why tell me you know something if you aren’t going to tell me? It drove me nuts when I thought my older sisters knew something I didn’t.  Thinking about it, that is probably why I love to read blogs…it is like finding someones diary and reading all about their secrets.  Of course, people are putting their thoughts out there for all to read, but you get my point.

I love Google.  I love that no matter what the question is, within seconds, I can type a word or phrase into the search bar and find the answers I am looking for.

However, there is still one secret that even Google can’t answer for me and it drives me crazy.  I have been intrigued by Gimghoul Castle in Chapel Hill and the Order of Ginghoul since I first saw the castle as a freshman at UNC.  From Wikipedia, I know the following:

[The Order was founded in 1889 by Robert Worth Bingham, Shepard Bryan, William W. Davies, Edward Wray Martin, and Andrew Henry Patterson, who were students at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The society is open to "notable" male students (rising juniors and higher), and faculty members by invitation.]

Okay…but what do they do? Why is it secret? How are the members chosen? What do they do inside the castle? What does the inside of the castle look like?  What kind of secret rituals do they have? How much of the legends are true? Is it really haunted…and if so, what makes them think so.

I hate secrets.

 

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gimghoul Castle

  1. justlovehim says:

    Ooooh…intriguing!

  2. Anonymous says:

    not even close

  3. burnsblog says:

    I’m with you — I can’t stand thinking someone knows something they won’t tell me! I had never heard of this Gimghoul Castle, but now I too am intrigued!

  4. Anon says:

    It’s just like any other fraternity…mainly a place to party. I’m technically still a member, but I haven’t been back since I graduated (1999), and I have been back to CH many times since then.

  5. Pingback: The Wonderful World of the Web « All I hear is blah, blah, blah

Leave a Reply

