Man Steals Money From Girl Scouts

Erin Gillum and Charlene Penick were selling cookies to raise money for a trip to Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens.

Fayetteville police are looking for the man who stole from a couple of girl scouts. The thief got away with $600 as the young scouts looked on.

Erin Gillum, 9, and Charlene Penick, 10, were selling cookies Sunday afternoon outside the Wal-Mart at 1550 Skibo Rd. when they say a man kept lingering about.

“At one point in time, he came over and looked like he was about to buy something, but his phone rang,” Erin said. “He walked over and sort of stared at the cookies for awhile,” Charlene said.

Then the man went for the metal tray of cash.

“And for half a second, I stood still, but then I ran after him. But my mom told me to come back,” Charlene said.

The scouts’ mothers, along with a few bystanders, also chased the thief.

“Absolutely, and if I could have caught him, I would have done ugly things,” mother Jennifer Penick said.

In the end, the man made off with the scouts’ money, leaving folks asking what kind of person would steal from children?

“I don’t know. I would like to think the best. My daughter said that he must have really needed the money, but I don’t know. I think he just saw some quick cash,” mother Debbie Gillum said.

What a great kid!  She has $600 stolen from her and she gives the thief the benefit of the doubt.  Me…I don’t care how badly you need the money, you always have choices and stealing from Girl Scouts should never be on the list of choices.  That is just shameful and appalling.

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

