Big Brother

Big Brother has been one of my favorite shows since I started watching it in season 2.  I love it for the same reason I love blogs…the psych major in me loves to peek into other people’s lives and watch personal relationships evolve and change.  I love to try and figure out what makes people tick and why they do what they do.

Big Brother decided to shake things up this year and change the timing of their show.  Since I rarely watch TV, I had NO idea this change was made until I saw a commercial on Sunday.  Now I am completely behind and don’t know what is going on.  I meant to read up on the first episodes before tonight’s show but never had the time. 

Within the first few minutes it was very clear that BB once again wants to torture us with housemates that have annoying, grating voices.  Listening to Amanda is like fingernails on a chalkboard.

The BB “twist” this year is that everyone is competing as couples. Apparently they are all single and “looking for love.” What they don’t know is that thanks to a detailed personality assessment, they have been paired to play the game with someone who could be their soul mate. The couples have to compete together, win Head of Household and Power of Veto together and face eviction together. There is a real-life couple in the house but they are not teammates.  From what I can gather, this has really upset the house.  Not to mention the fact that it is weird that they are both sleeping in the same bed with someone else of the opposite sex in the same house.  That’s right…the couples have to share a bed.  BB loves their night-vision cameras.

I really don’t know if I can stand to watch Jen and Ryan all season.  If I was in the house, I think I would totally lose my patience with them.

Parker just called Matt his BFF.  Guys say this??

I’m starting to wonder if I am going to be able to stick with this show this season.  I have loved this show in the past.  I loved that they always had a mix of ages, races, and cultural backgrounds.  Now we just have 16 shallow twenty-somethings wanting to jump in bed with each other.  Oh wait, I forgot Sheila…she’s 45.  Not really sure what BB was thinking with that casting.  She is SIXTEEN years older than the next oldest housemate (who is supposed to be her soul mate).  Ironically, she has a 16 year-old son.

I should have just stayed with American Idol!

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Television and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

