Reading is pretty cool

One day your child is learning their letters and phonics and the next day they are reading a book to you…or at least that is how it seems.  I asked Hailey this weekend if it was cool to go from seeing signs as meaningless letters put together with pictures to being able to read what the signs say.  Hailey, in her ever dramatic and wise way said to me, “Mo-om, I can read now.  I’m in Kindergarten.”  Well, yeah…that was the point.  Anyway, I think it is pretty awesome how reading changes the whole world around you.  Not only can you read what is around you, but you can explore whole new worlds and ideas through books.  We have bookshelves crammed full of books and Ed has read several chapter books to the girls (Harry Potter books are the favorites…I’ve read all the books twice but I bet you Hailey can tell you more details than I can) so books in general are in no way new to Hailey.  What is new is the ability to sit down and read a book to herself, her parents, or her little sister.  It really touched me tonight when Leah asked me to read her a book and Hailey said she would do it.  The book was called “I’m the Big Sister” and when Leah sat down with Hailey she announced that she was the “little sister”.  I love my girls.  They make every day crazy, fun, sweet, and wonderful.

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

