our little artist

Hailey is in her second session of art classes at Art Studio downtown.  I picked her up today and for the first time ever, she had not completed her project.  I was so excited to see that she is finally slowing down and paying more attention to the details, her form, the colors, etc. Usually she has completed her project and has started sketching in her book.

Today’s project was to draw a giraffe and then add in details.  Hailey had also drawn a tree and a brown circle.  She said she tried to paint a little black in the middle of the circle to show that it was very deep because it was a hole where little animals could hide.  I was pretty impressed with that.  I can’t imagine that at 5, I would have thought to paint the middle darker in order to show depth.  The sky was a beautiful orange.  I did have to wait for her to finish the sky because she can’t stand to leave it until the next week.  Lisa said she was showing more maturity as an artist.  I can certainly see in her artwork that she has really benefited from this class. We got her artwork from the first session today and I can’t wait to get it all framed and hung!

We had a guest speaker at our leadership forum who talked about all the items he had in his garage that represented all the things he and his wife introduced their children to in their pursuit to find that which their children were truly passionate about.  So far, Hailey has only given up gymnastics.  She actually would like to go back to gymnastics, but dance and art are about all I can keep up with right now.  She told me yesterday that she wants to play soccer, not basketball, because she doesn’t like to get sweaty.  I told her that she had to run just as hard with soccer and that she would get sweaty so now she isn’t so sure. 

The other benefit to art class is that I know I get to go in Shops of Steele Street at least once a week.  The Dapper Dander booth is going out of business and so the products are really marked down.  I got the stuffed kitten Leah has asked for every week for $4 and a large and colorful ceramic dog dish for $5.  The blue plastic dog dish we have had for 9 years can finally be retired!

I had a nice talk with Beverly Brookshire.  She has smaller versions of her downtown paintings framed beautifully for a little over $30.  She gave me the name of an artist who grew up in my house and I can’t wait to get in touch with her and find out what she knows about the history of our house!

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family, Sanford and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

