Heaven Sent

Heaven Sent

Emily and I first met on campus at UNC. I was a resident assistant in one of the dorms arriving to help with freshman orientation and dorm preparation. Emily was an orientation counselor. We were introduced by a mutual friend. From the outset, we really enjoyed each other’s company. Emily ‘gets’ me. We gradually became closer and closer friends. We’d hang out, watch TV, go to concerts, share meals…but it was always platonic. “What’s going on with you two?” “We’re just friends.”Emily figured it out before I did, but I was dense. She was probably dropping hints, but I didn’t pick them up. Her friends told her to move on, find somebody else. But somehow she knew that we were meant to be.Shortly before I went off on an inner-city mission trip during spring break of my senior year, we had a tiff because I said something stupid. The whole time I was gone, I was praying about her, about our friendship, about everything.

There are times in the life of a Christian where God speaks directly to your heart. In a moment of inspired clarity, I knew: She was the one I could not live without. We were made for each other. We were meant to be together. She was my mission in life.

Keep in mind: We had never kissed. Never been on a date.

I flew back from Denver and drove straight from Raleigh to Holden Beach, where Emily and her friends were wrapping up their spring break. It was her birthday. I made it there at a quarter til midnight.

We went out on the beach to talk. The waves were crashing. The moon was shining. There was even a comet in the sky. It was just cold enough to justify sharing a blanket. I asked her if she would spend the rest of her life with me, and she said yes. We shared our first kiss.

We got married in May of the next year. We now have two beautiful girls and will celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary in May. And I’ve never had any doubt–we were made for each other.

Note from Emily: a friend of mine (who ended up being a bridesmaid) told me before my beach trip that Ed was going to ask me to marry him.  She did not know Ed and had no rational reason to think this.  She knew he had made a big deal about making it to the beach in time for my 21st birthday, but that was it. Once the seed was planted in my brain, it was all I could think about.  I spent a lot of time thinking, praying, and talking to my friend Jen (my maid of honor!)  I had no question that if the unthinkable happened and he really did ask me, that I would say “YES!” I knew long before Ed did that we were true soul mates and that we would eventually be together.  As the “baby” of the family, telling my parents that I was going to marry someone I had never dated was both exciting and nerve-wracking.  Thankfully, they knew they had raised me to put my faith in God and they trusted us when we said this was something we had both prayed about and knew was His plan for our life.  Ed is right when he says I am his mission in life…meaning I am a lot of work! Ed married a woman with fibromyalgia with full knowledge of exactly what that life would be like because his mom also has fibromyalgia.  I am so blessed! 

About emilypage

I have been married to my husband, Ed since 1998. We have two daughters, Hailey (9) and Leah (6). I have been the Director of Easter Seals UCP Stepping Stones Children's Center in Sanford since 2004. I am an Independent Senior Director for Thirty-One and I absolutely LOVE it! I was raised as a Wolfpacker but saw the light and now I bleed Carolina blue (sorry, dad).
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

